Ignorer la navigation
Philippines

Portail de données ouvertes (PH0059)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action des Philippines 2019-2022

Cycle du plan d'action : 2019

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Département des technologies de l'information et des communications (DICT)

Institution(s) de soutien : Bureau présidentiel des opérations de communication - Projet de liberté d'information Département du budget et de la gestion - PhilGEPS - Contrats ouverts - HIVOS, ANSA, LayerTech, Bantay Kita, Youth-FOI

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Anti-Corruption, Capacité? bâtiment, E-gouvernement, Genre, Communautés marginalisées, Marchés ouverts et marchés publics, Open Data, Participation du public, Marchés publics, Droit à l'information, Objectifs de développement durable

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de conception des Philippines 2019-2021

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : en attente de l'examen du MII

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : accès à l'information, participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement : en attente de l'examen IRM

Détails

Quel est le problème que l'engagement va résoudre?

Le gouvernement philippin génère, collecte et détient des données sur presque toutes les exécutions de son mandat. Malgré le nombre de données disponibles dans différents moyens et formats, leur utilisation, notamment par le grand public, est sous-optimale. Il existe un certain nombre d'obstacles qui empêchent les données gouvernementales d'atteindre non seulement leur valeur économique, mais également leur véritable potentiel intrinsèque en tant qu'éléments constitutifs d'une bonne gouvernance. Les défis comprennent, sans s'y limiter, les suivants:
● Faible utilisation des données en raison de sources gouvernementales dispersées sur divers sites et domaines;
● Manque de contenu et de données en ligne standardisés du gouvernement qui entravent l'interopérabilité; et
● Absence de politiques au sein du système gouvernemental qui encouragent la publication de données dans des formats ouverts.

Quel est l'engagement?

L'engagement consiste à accroître la disponibilité et l'utilisation des données gouvernementales qui ouvriront la voie à une gouvernance fondée sur les données (pour le gouvernement) et à l'innovation et au développement basés sur les données (pour le grand public). Pour ce faire, les volets offre et demande des données gouvernementales doivent être renforcés simultanément.

D'une part, pour répondre à l'offre de l'utilisation des données, la DICT hébergera des données et des informations gouvernementales sur leurs portails actuels; à savoir, gov.ph et data.gov.ph. En fournissant ces portails, d'autres agences gouvernementales peuvent se concentrer sur la gestion des données et du contenu au lieu de gérer ou de développer leurs propres portails. Le maintien de portails désignés pour les données et informations répondra aux préoccupations du public concernant les sources gouvernementales dispersées et, en même temps, établira un contenu et des modèles en ligne normalisés qui amélioreront l'interopérabilité.

L'engagement se concentrera également sur la mise en œuvre de politiques, de normes et de meilleures pratiques qui obligeront les agences à fournir des données et des informations ouvertes.

D'autre part, pour répondre à la demande, le DICT obtiendra les données du programme d'accès à l'information (FOI), ainsi que les demandes qu'il reçoit et traite. Le portail de données ouvertes du système philippin d'approvisionnement électronique du gouvernement philippin (PhilGEPS), principalement axé sur les contrats ouverts, peut également être une contribution à l'Open Data Philippines (ODPh). Les organisations de la société civile (OSC) peuvent également participer et aider en identifiant les données ouvertes hautement nécessaires issues de leurs opérations.

L'approche consiste à cibler les données et informations à faible impact et à fort impact qui seront priorisées avec l'aide des agences gouvernementales et des OSC pour améliorer ses services. En outre, le DICT vise à mener des campagnes d'information, d'éducation et d'information (IEC) pour cette initiative par le biais de visualisations de données de qualité et de narration. Les dialogues et les forums amélioreront également l'utilité et l'utilisation des données gouvernementales.

Voir le plan d'action pour les activités marquantes

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

3. Développer et améliorer le portail Open Data Philippines

« L'engagement est d'augmenter la disponibilité et l'utilisation des données gouvernementales qui ouvriront la voie à un gouvernement axé sur les données (pour le gouvernement) et à l'innovation et au développement axés sur les données (pour le grand public). Pour ce faire, l'offre et les côtés de la demande des données gouvernementales doivent être augmentés simultanément.

L'engagement se concentrera également sur la mise en œuvre de politiques, de normes et de meilleures pratiques qui obligeront les agences à fournir des données et des informations ouvertes. »

Objectif principal

« L'engagement est l'objectif final clé et mesurable pour parvenir à une gouvernance et à des politiques axées sur les données. Plus précisément, l'engagement abordera les trois problèmes publics spécifiques identifiés par les éléments suivants :

  1. L'engagement abordera les problèmes de faible utilisation des données, car l'utilisation du portail peut être améliorée grâce à l'analyse des données qui peut mesurer le nombre d'utilisateurs et les données les plus téléchargées dans l'ODPh ;
  2. En ayant un contenu standardisé, la commercialisation du portail peut devenir plus facile. De plus, des données cohérentes et un contenu en ligne favoriseront une plus grande consommation en termes d'analyse de données, où le grand public pourra utiliser les données pour des statistiques et des études de base ; et
  3. La mise en œuvre de politiques, de normes et de meilleures pratiques améliorera les systèmes et processus gouvernementaux qui conduiront à l'interopérabilité pour faciliter les transactions commerciales et citoyennes. »

Milestones

  1. Publication des politiques et directives signées pour institutionnaliser les données ouvertes aux Philippines.
  2. Campagnes de sensibilisation de l'ODPh à toutes les parties prenantes, y compris les agences gouvernementales, le gouvernement local, les OSC et les citoyens philippins en général.
  3. Dialogues ou forum avec les OSC pour déterminer la priorité et les « données les plus demandées ».
  4. Augmentation de 100 % du nombre de référence d'agences gouvernementales pour fournir des données sur le portail ODPh.
  5. Amélioration du système des fonctionnalités des portails ODPh et GovPH, de l'interface utilisateur (UI) et de l'expérience utilisateur (UX).
  6. Présence de données agrégées par sexe des utilisateurs du portail ODPh et résultats des retours d'information.
  7. Conformité aux directives d'accessibilité telles que prescrites par le DICT MC n° 2017-004 intitulé « Prescription de la politique d'accessibilité du Web et adoption dans le but de la technologie de l'information ISO/IEC 40500:2012 - Directives d'accessibilité du contenu Web du W3C (WCAG 2.0) en tant que norme philippine pour Rendre le contenu Web plus accessible à un plus large éventail de personnes handicapées.

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte complet de cet engagement, ainsi que la version mise à jour soumise dans le plan d'action révisé, veuillez consulter le plan d'action des Philippines à l'adresse https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-action-plan-2019-2022/.

Analyse des engagements

Cet engagement vise à accroître la disponibilité et l'utilisation des données gouvernementales dans un format de données ouvert. Le bureau Open Data Philippines (ODPh) centralisera et normalisera l'hébergement et l'accès aux données gouvernementales. Les agences gouvernementales et les OSC partenaires collaboreront pour identifier et hiérarchiser les données et informations qui seront publiées via l'ODPh.

La Constitution reconnaît le rôle vital de la communication et de l'information dans l'édification de la nation. En outre affirmé dans la Loi de la République (RA) 10844 (la « Loi de 2015 sur le Département des technologies de l'information et des communications (DICT) »), le gouvernement doit fournir une infrastructure, des systèmes de technologies de l'information et de la communication stratégiques, fiables, rentables et centrés sur le citoyen. , et les ressources en tant qu'instruments de bonne gouvernance et de compétitivité mondiale. (38)

À l'heure actuelle, cependant, malgré le décret exécutif (EO) n° 2 (EO Freedom of Information (FOI)), les données gouvernementales sont toujours hébergées séparément par chaque agence respective dans leurs propres portails, sites Web et mécanismes d'archivage. (39) Les OSC et les citoyens doivent rechercher diverses sources pour trouver des informations et faire une demande de FOI lorsque les informations ne sont pas disponibles. D'autres mécanismes de divulgation centralisés comprennent le système d'approvisionnement électronique du gouvernement philippin (PhilGEPS) pour les informations relatives aux achats, l'ancienne initiative de données ouvertes et le projet d'imagerie numérique pour le suivi et l'évaluation du Département du budget et de la gestion, et le portail de la politique de divulgation complète de le ministère de l'Intérieur et des collectivités locales. (40)

Débutant son développement en 2015, le portail ODPh a été conçu comme un guichet unique pour les services gouvernementaux en ligne, l'infrastructure opérationnelle et l'information publique. Avec ODPh fonctionnant comme le portail du gouvernement national, les citoyens n'auront plus besoin de se rendre physiquement dans un bureau du gouvernement ou de naviguer sur les sites Web de différents organismes gouvernementaux pour effectuer des transactions de base, telles que demander un permis de conduire, déclarer des impôts et renouveler un passeport. (41)

Cet engagement est pertinent pour les valeurs de l'OGP d'accès à l'information et de participation civique. La société civile aidera à prioriser les données gouvernementales à publier via le portail ODPh. Les partenaires des OSC contribueront également à définir les exigences en matière de processus et de contenu.

Les Philippines ont cherché à améliorer le portail de données ouvertes dans le cadre du plan d'action 2015-2017. (42) Il y a eu des séances de formation et d'orientation pour les organismes gouvernementaux. Cependant, l'initiative s'est heurtée à des défis à la fois institutionnels et techniques. Les agences ont résisté aux nouvelles procédures et n'ont pas été incitées à télécharger des données. Certaines agences n'étaient pas au courant de l'exigence et d'autres ne pensaient pas que le partage des données était important. Par conséquent, l'adoption par les agences du portail de données ouvertes a été lente, ce qui a limité les données disponibles au public. Les défis techniques comprenaient des formats de données et des sites Web différents selon les agences et l'absence d'un système d'alimentation ou d'un processus automatique. (43)

Selon le DICT, l'engagement de la direction de l'agence à ouvrir les données détermine si une agence participe au portail. (44) La législation obligerait le DICT à établir un plan directeur d'administration en ligne. Cela comprendrait un cadre d'interopérabilité pour guider l'interopérabilité technique de base des systèmes TIC entre les agences gouvernementales, le système d'archivage et de gestion des dossiers, et le système de paiement en ligne du gouvernement. (45)

Cet engagement a un impact potentiel mineur. Les activités comprenaient des étapes progressives mais positives vers un portail ODPh robuste. Les projets de partenariat étroit avec les OSC pour hiérarchiser et publier les données sont louables. Les jalons sur l'orientation des agences et la sensibilisation peuvent surmonter les obstacles qui ont entravé l'engagement des Philippines en matière de données ouvertes en 2015. Cependant, il reste encore des obstacles importants à surmonter, comme l'unification des différents portails existants et les politiques d'open data.

Du côté de la société civile, les OSC notent que le gouvernement doit d'abord délimiter le rôle du portail ODPh par rapport à celui du Bureau présidentiel des opérations de communication (PCOO) qui exploite et maintient le portail FOI. (46) En vertu de l'article 6 1-a de la RA 10844, le DICT doit élaborer, recommander et mettre en œuvre des politiques, programmes et directives nationaux qui favoriseront le développement et l'utilisation des TIC en tenant dûment compte des avantages de la convergence et des technologies émergentes. Pendant ce temps, en vertu de la FOI EO, le PCOO est chargé de respecter le droit constitutionnel du peuple à l'information et de soutenir les politiques de l'État en matière de divulgation publique complète et de transparence dans la prestation des services publics.

Alors que le Congrès philippin continue de débattre du projet de loi sur le gouvernement électronique, le DICT peut le défendre de manière solide en tirant parti du portail ODPh. Cependant, les parties prenantes devraient naviguer dans le labyrinthe des dispositions institutionnelles pour l'hébergement des données gouvernementales à travers différents mécanismes tels que les portails PhilGEPS et FOI. Il est également important de noter que le portail du gouvernement national a passé plusieurs années en développement mais n'a pas suscité autant de soutien et d'enthousiasme, ce qui pourrait indiquer un réel problème dans la mise en œuvre de cet engagement.

Prochaines étapes

Compte tenu de la confusion qui s'ensuit entre les mandats et les fonctions de l'ODPh et des portails FOI, le PCOO et le DICT doivent revoir leurs mandats pour clarifier et délimiter leurs rôles respectifs. (47) Sinon, le chevauchement pourrait retarder la mise en œuvre de cet engagement. Par exemple, la distinction pourrait être que le portail ODPh publierait des données gouvernementales de manière proactive sur la base des informations stockées par des agences individuelles, tandis que le portail FOI gère et répond aux demandes d'informations déposées par les citoyens.

Les rapports précédents de l'IRM suggèrent que l'hésitation et les obstacles des agences à télécharger des données étaient un défi majeur pour un portail de données ouvert complet. Par conséquent, l'IRM recommande de donner la priorité à la compréhension, à l'adhésion et aux incitations intergouvernementales pour faciliter la participation des agences. (48)

(38) Département des technologies de l'information et des communications des Philippines, « Loi de la République n° 10844 » (23 mai 2016), https://dict.gov.ph/about-us/republic-act-no-10844/.
(39) Aida Yuvienco (Département des technologies de l'information et des communications de la République des Philippines), interview par une chercheuse de l'IRM, 5 juin 2020.
(40) Sandino Soliman (Program Officer for Advocacy, CODE-NGO), entretien par un chercheur de l'IRM, 29 mai 2020.
(42) Joy Aceron, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM) : Philippines End-of-Term Report 2015-2017 (OGP, 29 juin 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-end-of-term-report-2015-2017-year-2/.
(43) Yuvienco, entretien.
(44) Id.
(45) Id.
(46) Vivien Suerte-Cortez (Hivos Asie du Sud-Est), entretien par un chercheur de l'IRM, 25 mai 2020.
(47) Soliman, entretien.
(48) Aceron, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM) : Philippines End-of-Term Report 2015-2017.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Philippines

Open Data Portal (PH0059)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Philippines Action Plan 2019-2022

Action Plan Cycle: 2019

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT)

Support Institution(s): Presidential Communications Operations Office – Freedom of Information Project Department of Budget and Management - PhilGEPS – Open Contracting - HIVOS, ANSA, LayerTech, Bantay Kita, Youth-FOI

Policy Areas

Access to Information, Anti-Corruption, Capacity Building, E-Government, Gender, Marginalized Communities, Open Contracting and Public Procurement, Open Data, Public Participation, Public Procurement, Right to Information, Sustainable Development Goals

IRM Review

IRM Report: Philippines Design Report 2019-2021

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Pending IRM Review

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information , Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion: Pending IRM Review

Description

What is the problem the commitment will address?

The Philippine Government generates, collects, and owns data from almost all of its mandate executions. Despite the number of data available in different means and formats, the usage, particularly by the general public, is sub-optimal. There exists a number of barriers that inhibit government data from attaining not only its economic value, but also its true and intrinsic potential as building blocks for good governance. The challenges include but are not limited to the following:
● Low utilization of data due to scattered government sources across various locations and domains;
● Lack of standardized government online content and data that lead to impeded interoperability; and
● Absence of policies within the government system that encourage the publication of data in open formats.

What is the commitment?

The commitment is to increase availability and utilization of government data that will pave the way toward data-driven governance (for the government), and data-driven innovation and development (for the general public). In order to do so, the supply and demand sides of the government data have to be heightened simultaneously.

On the one hand, to address the supply side of data utilization, DICT will be hosting government data and information on their current portals; namely, gov.ph and data.gov.ph. By providing these portals, other government agencies can focus on data and content management instead of managing or developing their own portals. Maintaining designated portals for data and information will address the public concern on scattered government sources, and at the same time, establish standardized online content and templates that will improve interoperability.

The commitment will also focus on implementing policies, standards, and best practices that will mandate agencies to contribute open data and information.

On the other hand, to address the demand side, the DICT will obtain data from the Freedom of Information (FOI) Program, and the requests that they receive and process. The Philippine Government Electronic Procurement System’s (PhilGEPS) open data portal primarily focused on Open Contracting can also be an input to the Open Data Philippines (ODPh). Civil society organizations (CSOs) can also participate and assist by identifying highly needed open data stemming from their operations.

The approach is to target ‘low hanging’ and ‘high impact’ data and information that will be prioritized with the help of government agencies and CSOs to improve its services. Moreover, the DICT aims to conduct Information, Education, and Information (IEC) campaigns for this initiative through quality data visualizations and storytelling. Dialogues and forums will also improve the usefulness and utilization of government data.

See Action Plan for milestone activities

IRM Midterm Status Summary

3. Expand and Improve the Open Data Philippines Portal

"The commitment is to increase availability and utilization of government data that will pave the way toward data-driven government (for the government), and data-driven innovation and development (for the general public). In order to do so, the supply and demand sides of the government data have to be heightened simultaneously.

The commitment will also focus on implementing policies, standards, and best practices that will mandate agencies to contribute open data and information."

Main Objective

"The commitment is the key and measurable end goal to achieve data-driven governance and policies. Specifically, the commitment will address the three specific public problems identified through the following:

  1. The commitment will address issues on low data utilization as the use of the portal can be enhanced through data analytics that can measure the number of users and most downloaded data in the ODPh;
  2. By having standardized content, the marketing of the portal can become easier. Moreover, consistent data and online content will foster more consumption in terms of data analysis, wherein the general public can use the data for statistics and baseline studies; and
  3. The implementation of policies, standards, and best practices will improve government systems and processes that will lead to interoperability to achieve ease of doing business and citizen transactions."

Milestones

  1. Release of signed policies and guidelines to institutionalize the Open Data Philippines.
  2. ODPh Awareness campaigns to all stakeholders including government agencies, local government, CSOs and Filipino citizens in general.
  3. Dialogues or Forum with CSOs to determine priority and “most requested data.”
  4. 100% increase of baseline number of government agencies to contribute data in the ODPh portal.
  5. System enhancement of ODPh and GovPH portal features, user interface (UI), and user experience (UX).
  6. Presence of gender-aggregated data of ODPh portal users, and feedback results.
  7. Compliance with the Accessibility guidelines as prescribed by DICT MC No. 2017-004 entitled “Prescribing Web Accessibility Policy and Adopting for the Purpose of ISO/IEC 40500:2012 Information Technology - W3C Web Content accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0) as the Philippine Standard for Making Web Content More Accessible to a Wider Range of People with Disabilities.

Editorial Note: For the complete text of this commitment, along with the updated version submitted in the revised action plan, please see the Philippine action plan at https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-action-plan-2019-2022/.

Commitment analysis

This commitment seeks to increase the availability and use of government data in an open data format. The Open Data Philippines (ODPh) office will centralize and standardize the hosting of and access to government data. Government agencies and CSO partners will collaborate to identify and prioritize the data and information that will be published through the ODPh.

The Constitution recognizes the vital role of communication and information in nation-building. Further affirmed in Republic Act (RA) 10844 (the “Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) Act of 2015”), the government must provide strategic, reliable, cost-efficient, and citizen-centric information and communication technology infrastructure, systems, and resources as instruments of good governance and global competitiveness. [38]

At present, however, despite Executive Order (EO) No. 2 (the Freedom of Information (FOI) EO), government data are still hosted separately by each respective agency in their own portals, websites, and archiving mechanisms. [39] CSOs and citizens must search various sources to find information and make a FOI request when the information is unavailable. Other centralized disclosure mechanisms include the Philippine Government Electronic Procurement System (PhilGEPS) for procurement-related information, the former Open Data Initiative and Project Digital Imaging for Monitoring & Evaluation of the of the Department of Budget and Management, and the full disclosure policy portal of the Department of the Interior and Local Government. [40]

Beginning development in 2015, the ODPh portal was envisioned as a one-stop shop for online government services, operational infrastructure, and public information. With ODPh functioning as the national government portal, citizens will no longer need to physically visit a government office or navigate through different government agency websites to perform basic transactions, such as applying for a driver’s license, filing taxes, and renewing a passport. [41]

This commitment is relevant to the OGP values of access to information and civic participation. Civil society will help to prioritize government data to be published through the ODPh portal. CSO partners will also help shape process and content requirements.

The Philippines sought to improve the Open Data Portal under the 2015–2017 action plan. [42] There were some training and orientation sessions for government agencies. However, the initiative faced both institutional and technical challenges. Agencies resisted new procedures and lacked incentives to upload data. Some agencies were not aware of the requirement and others did not feel data sharing to be important. Therefore, agency adoption of the open data portal was slow, which limited the data available to the public. Technical challenges included differing data formats and websites across agencies and lack of a feeder system or automatic process. [43]

According to the DICT, the commitment of agency management to open data determines whether an agency participates in the portal. [44] Legislation would require the DICT to establish an E-Government Master Plan. This would include an interoperability framework to guide basic technical interoperability of ICT systems across government agencies, the archiving and record management system, and the government’s online payment system. [45]

This commitment has a minor potential impact. The activities included address gradual but positive steps toward a robust ODPh portal. Plans to closely partner with CSOs to prioritize and publish data is commendable. Milestones on agency guidance and awareness raising may address obstacles that hindered the Philippines’ 2015 open data commitment. However, there are still significant obstacles to overcome, such as unifying the various existing portals and open data policies.

From the civil society side, CSOs note that the government needs to first delineate the ODPh portal’s role against that of the Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) which operates and maintains the FOI portal. [46] By virtue of Section 6 1-a of RA 10844, the DICT must form, recommend, and implement national policies, programs, and guidelines that will promote the development and use of ICT with due consideration to the advantages of convergence and emerging technologies. Meanwhile, by virtue of the FOI EO, the PCOO is tasked to fulfill the people’s constitutional right to information and support the state policies on full public disclosure and transparency in public service delivery.

As the Philippine Congress continues to debate the E-Government Bill, the DICT can make a strong case for it by leveraging the ODPh portal. However, stakeholders would need to navigate the maze of institutional arrangements for hosting government data through different mechanisms such as the PhilGEPS and the FOI portals. It is also important to note that the national government portal has spent several years in development but has not generated as much support and enthusiasm, which could indicate a real problem in the implementation of this commitment.

Next Steps

Given the ensuing confusion between the mandates and functions of the ODPh and the FOI portals, the PCOO and the DICT need to revisit their mandates to clarify and delineate their respective roles. [47] Otherwise, the overlap could stunt this commitment’s implementation. For example, the distinction could be that the ODPh portal would publish government data proactively based on information stored by individual agencies, while the FOI portal manages and responds to information requests filed by citizens.

Previous IRM reports suggest that agencies’ hesitancy and obstacles to upload data was a major challenge to a comprehensive Open Data Portal. Therefore, the IRM recommends prioritizing cross-government understanding, buy-in, and incentives to facilitate agency participation. [48]

[38] Philippines’ Dept. of Information and Communications Technology, “Republic Act No. 10844” (23 May 2016), https://dict.gov.ph/about-us/republic-act-no-10844/.
[39] Aida Yuvienco (Department of Information and Communications Technology of the Republic of the Philippines), interview by IRM researcher, 5 Jun. 2020.
[40] Sandino Soliman (Program Officer for Advocacy, CODE-NGO), interview by IRM researcher, 29 May 2020.
[42] Joy Aceron, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM): Philippines End-of-Term Report 2015-2017 (OGP, 29 Jun. 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/philippines-end-of-term-report-2015-2017-year-2/.
[43] Yuvienco, interview.
[44] Id.
[45] Id.
[46] Vivien Suerte-Cortez (Hivos Southeast Asia), interview by IRM researcher, 25 May 2020.
[47] Soliman, interview.
[48] Aceron, Independent Reporting Mechanism (IRM): Philippines End-of-Term Report 2015-2017.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership