Ignorer la navigation
Sierra Leone

Transparence de l'aide étrangère (SL0013)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national de Sierra Leone 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère des finances et du développement économique

Institution (s) de soutien: DACO, Anti Corruption Commission; Society for Democratic Initiative Budget Advocacy Network Fédération des acteurs non étatiques SLANGO INGO forum

Domaines politiques

Accès à l'information, Aide, Espace civique, E-gouvernement, Ouverture fiscale, Liberté d'association, Santé, Open Data, Participation du public, Prestation de services publics, Publication des informations budgétaires / fiscales

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport à la fin du Sierra Leone 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours pour la Sierra Leone 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: marginal

Design i

Vérifiable: oui

Relatives aux valeurs OGP: Accès à l'information

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Statu quo ou problème à résoudre
Un certain nombre de donateurs, d’ONGI et d’ONG reçoivent des fonds au nom de la population de Sierra Leone pour mettre en œuvre diverses activités visant à fournir des services aux citoyens. Cependant, les citoyens ne connaissent pas le montant des ressources et dans quel but ces institutions reçoivent des fonds en leur nom. Les donateurs financent différents projets d'aide en Sierra Leone. Nombre de ces projets sont mis en œuvre à l'insu du gouvernement, qui a du mal à collecter des informations sur les diverses initiatives en concurrence dans le pays.
Objectif principal

Augmenter la transparence de l'aide pour une utilisation efficace des ressources
Brève description de l'engagement (limite de caractères 140)
Les donateurs, les ONG, les ONGI et les OSC publieront en ligne et sous forme de données ouvertes les fonds destinés à la reprise post-Ebola. Une réunion de district annuelle sera également organisée à l'intention des donateurs, des ONGI, des ONG et des organisations de la société civile (OSC) afin de divulguer les fonds destinés à ce district et le budget détaillé du niveau d'activité partagé.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 2. Transparence de l'aide étrangère

Texte d'engagement:

Les donateurs, les ONG, les ONGI et les OSC publieront en ligne et sous forme de données ouvertes les fonds destinés à la reprise post-Ebola. En outre, une réunion annuelle de district sera organisée à l’intention des donateurs, des ONGI, des ONG et des organisations de la société civile afin de divulguer les fonds destinés à ce district et le budget détaillé des activités réparties.

Jalons:

  1. Le CODA publiera en ligne les détails des fonds des donateurs destinés à la reprise post-Ebola, conformément au standard établi par l'Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA) et au portail sur les données ouvertes, y compris le budget par niveau d'activité
  2. Les ONGI et les ONG publient en ligne les détails des fonds des donateurs destinés à la reprise post-Ebola conformément à la norme établie par l'Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide (IITA) et au portail sur les données ouvertes, y compris le budget par niveau d'activité
  3. Les donateurs, les ONGI et les ONG organisent des réunions publiques annuelles de district afin de divulguer les fonds destinés à ce district et dans quel but et en détail le budget de niveau d'activité partagé
  4. Les donateurs publient tous les fonds qui entrent directement dans le budget national conformément à la norme IITA.

Institution responsable: Bureau de coordination de l'aide au développement.

Institution (s) de soutien: Société pour les initiatives démocratiques, Réseau pour la promotion du budget, Fédération, Association des organisations non gouvernementales de Sierra Leone (SLANGO), Forum des OING.

Date de début: juillet 2016 Date de fin: juin 2018

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement visait à améliorer les informations disponibles au public sur l'aide étrangère reçue par la Sierra Leone pour lutter contre la pauvreté résultant de l'épidémie d'Ebola 2014 − 2015. La Sierra Leone est un important bénéficiaire de l'aide étrangère au développement et a rejoint l'Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide à 2011, s'engageant à respecter leurs normes. La fourniture transparente d'informations au public sur l'aide étrangère devrait améliorer l'utilisation efficace des ressources.

Statut

Mi-parcours: substantiel

À mi-parcours, deux activités relevant de cet engagement (jalons 1 et 2) étaient déjà terminées avant le début du plan d'action. Premièrement, les informations sur les projets des donateurs étaient publiées sur le site Web DAD (Development Assistance Data), qui avait été lancé en 2013, avant l’élaboration du plan d’action. Deuxièmement, les entrées dans la DAD indiquaient l'historique des projets avec des profils créés dès janvier 2015 concernant la publication de l'aide au développement international pour les projets de relèvement post-Ebola. Aucune action supplémentaire n’a été prise sur ces jalons. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez vous reporter au rapport de mi-parcours de 2016 − 2018.

Fin du mandat: Limité

Jalon 1: les informations sur les fonds des donateurs destinés au relèvement après Ebola n'ont pas été publiées sur le portail de données ouvertes de la Sierra Leone, comme requis par le jalon. À mi-parcours, ce jalon était codé comme étant terminé car le chercheur n'avait examiné qu'un aspect du jalon: la publication d'informations sur les projets des donateurs concernant la DAD. Cependant, cette étape visait également à mettre des informations sur les fonds Ebola sur le portail de données ouvertes de Sierra Leone. Cela ne s'est pas produit à mi-parcours et ne justifiait donc pas un progrès «substantiel» à l'époque. À la fin du mandat, les informations sur les fonds Ebola ne figuraient toujours pas sur le portail de données ouvertes de la Sierra Leone, comme l'exigeait le jalon. La mise en œuvre de l’étape n’a donc pas été achevée; Les informations sur les donateurs étaient en ligne via la DAD et d'autres sites Web, mais pas sur le portail de données ouvertes de Sierra Leone.

Jalon 2: À mi-parcours, ce jalon avait été signalé comme achevé avant l’élaboration du plan d’action. Ce statut était dû au fait que le chercheur n'avait pas examiné le deuxième aspect de l'étape: obliger les ONG locales et internationales à publier des détails, y compris des informations sur le budget par activité, des fonds de dons post-Ebola sur le portail de données ouvertes. Au moment de la rédaction de ce rapport, le chercheur réalise que cela n’a pas été accompli à mi-parcours, ni à la fin du mandat.

Jalon 3: Selon ce jalon, les donateurs et les ONG devaient organiser des réunions publiques annuelles au niveau des districts afin de révéler les fonds destinés à des districts particuliers. Le coordinateur du Budget Advocacy Network, une OSC impliquée dans l'engagement, a confirmé que ces réunions n'avaient pas eu lieu. Le gouvernement n'a fourni aucune information sur la raison pour laquelle les réunions n'avaient pas eu lieu.

Jalon 4: Il n'y avait aucune preuve publiquement disponible montrant que les donateurs avaient publié leurs contributions au budget du gouvernement. Le coordinateur du réseau pour la promotion du budget a confirmé n'avoir aucune preuve que les donateurs aient publié leurs contributions financières au budget de l'État pour les exercices 2017 et 2018.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: marginal

Bien que la divulgation publique du volume et de l'utilisation de l'aide étrangère reste un débat en Sierra Leone, cet engagement concernait l'aide étrangère au pays visant spécifiquement à faire face aux conséquences de l'épidémie d'Ebola 2014 − 2015. La divulgation de l'aide étrangère en faveur de la reprise post-Ebola sur le portail de données ouvertes et lors de réunions au niveau des districts aurait élargi l'accès des citoyens à l'information sur le volume et l'utilisation des fonds étrangers liés à Ebola, leur permettant de mieux exiger la responsabilité et l'efficacité. . La plupart des jalons restaient toutefois incomplets. Ainsi, cet engagement n’a que peu amélioré la quantité et la qualité des informations reçues par les citoyens.

Reportés?

Le gouvernement n'avait pas publié le troisième plan d'action au moment de la rédaction de ce rapport. Les parties prenantes impliquées dans l'engagement déclarent que cela ne devrait pas être repris dans le prochain plan d'action, car les informations sur l'aide à Ebola sont disponibles à la fois auprès du gouvernement et d'ONG internationales. Des informations sur l’aide au développement pour le relèvement d’Ebola ont été publiées sur les sites Web de l’Initiative de suivi du relèvement d’Ebola et du Fonds d’affectation spéciale multipartite des Nations Unies. Pour que les ONG communiquent des informations sur le montant et les utilisations de leurs fonds en devises, il faudrait une étude approfondie pour identifier le niveau du problème et débattre de la question de savoir s'il faut créer un engagement à ce sujet à l'avenir.

Initiative internationale pour la transparence de l'aide, «La Sierra Leone approuve l'IITA» (11 févr. 2011), https://iatistandard.org/en/news/sierra-leone-endorse-iati.

Le site Web de l’aide au développement (DAD) est disponible ici: http://dad.synisys.com/dadsierraleone/#.

Charlie Hughes, Rapport à mi-parcours pour la Sierra Leone 2016-2018 (OGP, 9 Jul. 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/sierra-leone-mid-term-report-2016-2018-year-1/.

Le portail de données ouvertes de la Sierra Leone est disponible à l'adresse suivante: opendatasl.gov.sl (en cours de maintenance).

Id.

Coordinateur du Budget Advocacy Network, entretien avec 13, chercheur en IRM, août 2018.

Id.

La Guinée, le Libéria, la Sierra Leone et le Conseiller spécial du Bureau du Secrétaire général pour la médecine communautaire et les enseignements tirés d'Haïti, l'Initiative de suivi du rétablissement à Ebola (consulté sur 2019), https://ebolarecovery.org; PNUD, «MPTF Ebola Response» (17 Jul. 2019), mptf.undp.org/factsheet/fund/EBO00.


Engagements

  1. Expansion des services de justice communautaire

    SL0022, 2019, Accès à la justice

  2. Améliorer l'accès à l'école secondaire

    SL0023, 2019, Éducation

  3. Transparence du système fiscal

    SL0024, 2019, Ouverture fiscale

  4. Registre de la propriété bénéficiaire

    SL0025, 2019, Anti-Corruption

  5. Améliorer la mise en œuvre du droit d'accès à l'information

    SL0026, 2019, Accès à l'information

  6. Faire progresser l'égalité des sexes

    SL0027, 2019, Accès à la justice

  7. Parlement ouvert

    SL0028, 2019, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Gestion des documents et des archives

    SL0029, 2019, Accès à l'information

  9. Genre

    SL0012, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Transparence de l'aide étrangère

    SL0013, 2016, Accès à l'information

  11. Gestion des déchets

    SL0014, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  12. Transparence fiscale et budget ouvert

    SL0015, 2016, Accès à l'information

  13. Rapport de vérification

    SL0016, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  14. Changement climatique

    SL0017, 2016, Accès à l'information

  15. Élections

    SL0018, 2016, Accès à l'information

  16. Record Archive Management

    SL0019, 2016, Accès à l'information

  17. Accès à la justice

    SL0020, 2016, Accès à la justice

  18. Marchés publics ouverts

    SL0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  19. Publier et réviser 70% des contrats de location miniers et agricoles

    SL0009, 2014, Accès à l'information

  20. Engagement étoilé Droit d'accès à la loi sur l'information

    SL0010, 2014, Accès à l'information

  21. Portail de données ouvert pour la transparence dans les transactions fiscales et extractives

    SL0011, 2014, Accès à l'information

  22. Pacte d'intégrité publique avec les ministères, agences et départements 5

    SL0001, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  23. Loi sur les archives et les documents

    SL0002, 2014, Accès à l'information

  24. Renforcer la direction de la gestion du rendement et de la prestation de services

    SL0003, 2014, Participation publique

  25. Conformité aux mesures de vérification

    SL0004, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  26. Engagement étoilé Compte de trésor unique

    SL0005, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  27. Loi sur les revenus de l'industrie extractive

    SL0006, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  28. Intensification des initiatives de transparence des industries extractives

    SL0007, 2014, Anti-Corruption

  29. Liens entre la politique de contenu local (LCP) et les MDA

    SL0008, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Sierra Leone

Foriegn Aid Transparency (SL0013)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Sierra Leone National Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Finance and Economic Development

Support Institution(s): DACO, Anti Corruption Commission; Society for Democratic Initiative Budget Advocacy Network Non State Actor Federation SLANGO INGO forum

Policy Areas

Aid, Civic Space, E-Government, Fiscal Transparency, Freedom of Association, Health, Open Data, Public Participation, Public Service Delivery, Records Management

IRM Review

IRM Report: Sierra Leone End-of-Term Report 2016-2018, Sierra Leone Mid-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Access to Information

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Status quo or problem/ issue to be addressed
A number of donor, INGO and NGOs do receive funds on behalf of the people of Sierra Leone to implement various activities geared towards providing service for the citizen. However, the citizens do not know the amount of resources and for what purpose these institutions receive funds on their behalf. Donors are funding different aid projects in Sierra Leone. Many of these projects are implemented unbeknownst to the government, which struggles to capture information about the diverse and competing initiatives in the country.
Main objective

Increase transparency of aid for efficient and effective use of resources
Brief Description of Commitment (140 character limit)
Donor, NGO, INGO and CSOs will publish funds meant for the post Ebola recovery online and in an open data format. Also annual district meeting will be held for donors, INGO, NGOs and CSOs to disclose funds meant for that particular district and detailed activity level budget shared

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 2. Foreign Aid Transparency

Commitment Text:

Donor, NGO, INGO and CSOs will publish funds meant for the post Ebola recovery online and in an open data format. Also, annual district meeting will be held for donors, INGO, NGOs and CSOs to disclose funds meant for that particular district and detailed activity level budget shared.

Milestones:

  1. DACO to publish details donor fund meant for the post Ebola recovery online according to the standard established by the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) and the on the open data portal including activity level budget
  2. INGOs and NGOs to publish details of donor funds meant for the post Ebola recovery online according to the standard established by the International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI) and the on the open data portal including activity level budget
  3. Donor, INGOs and NGOs hold annual District public meetings to disclose fund meant for that particular district and for what purpose and detail activity-level budget shared
  4. Donor publish all funds that go directly into the national budget according to the IATI Standard.

Responsible institution: Development Aid Coordinating Office.

Supporting institution(s): Society for Democratic Initiatives, Budget Advocacy Network, Federation, Sierra Leone Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (SLANGO), INGO Forum.

Start date: July 2016                                                                                  End date: June 2018

Commitment Aim:

This commitment aimed to improve information available to the public on foreign aid received by Sierra Leone for poverty resulting from the 2014−2015 Ebola epidemic. Sierra Leone is a major recipient of foreign development assistance and joined the International Aid Transparency Initiative in 2011, committing to follow their standards. [12] Transparent provision of information to the public on foreign aid should improve the effective use of resources.

Status

Midterm: Substantial

By the midterm, two activities under this commitment (Milestones 1 and 2) were already completed prior to the start of the action plan. First, donor project information was being published on the Development Assistance Data (DAD) website, which launched in 2013, prior to the development of the action plan. [13] Second, entries in the DAD showed project histories with profiles created from as early as January 2015 regarding the publication of international development assistance toward post-Ebola recovery projects. There was no further action on these milestones. For more information, please see the 2016−2018 midterm report. [14]

End of term: Limited

Milestone 1: Information on donor funds meant for the post-Ebola recovery were not published on Sierra Leone’s open data portal, as required by the milestone. [15] At the midterm, this milestone was coded as completed because the researcher only looked at one aspect of the milestone: the publication of donor project information on the DAD. However, the milestone also intended to put Ebola-fund information on the Sierra Leone Open Data Portal. This did not happen by the midterm, and therefore did not warrant “substantial” progress at the time. At the end of term, Ebola-fund information was still not on the Sierra Leone Open Data Portal as required by the milestone. Implementation of the milestone was therefore not completed; while donor information was online via the DAD and other websites, it was not on the Sierra Leone open data portal.

Milestone 2: By the midterm, this milestone was reported as completed before the action plan was developed. This status was because the researcher did not look at the second aspect of the milestone: requiring local and international NGOs to publish details, including activity-level budget information, of post-Ebola donation funds to the open data portal. By the time of this report, the researcher realizes this was not accomplished by the midterm, nor was it accomplished by the end of term. [16]

Milestone 3: According to this milestone, donors and NGOs were to hold annual, district-level public meetings to disclose funds meant for particular districts. The Coordinator of Budget Advocacy Network, a CSO involved with the commitment, confirmed that these meetings did not occur. [17] The government provided no information as to why the meetings were not held.

Milestone 4: There was no publicly available evidence showing that donors had published their contributions to the government budget. The Coordinator of Budget Advocacy Network confirmed he had no evidence that donors published their financial contributions to the government budget for the financial years 2017 and 2018. [18]

Did it open government?

Access to information: Marginal

While public disclosure of the volume and use of foreign aid remains a debate in Sierra Leone, this commitment was concerned about foreign aid to the country specifically aimed toward dealing with the aftermath of the 2014−2015 Ebola epidemic. Disclosure of foreign assistance toward post-Ebola recovery on the open data portal, and through district-level meetings, would have expanded citizens’ access to information on the volume and use of Ebola-related foreign funds, enabling them to better demand accountability and effectiveness. Most of the milestones, however, remained incomplete. Thus, this commitment only marginally improved the amount and quality of information citizens received.

Carried forward?

The government had not released the third action plan at the time of this report. Stakeholders involved with the commitment say it should not be carried forward into the next action plan as Ebola aid information is available from both the government and international NGOs. Information on development assistance for Ebola recovery was published on the websites of the Ebola Recovery Tracking Initiative and the United Nations Multi-Partner Trust Fund. [19] For NGOs’ disclosure of information on the amount and uses of their foreign funds, there would need to be a comprehensive study to identify the level of the problem and debate whether to create a commitment on it in the future.

[12] International Aid Transparency Initiative, “Sierra Leone endorse [sic] IATI” (11 Feb. 2011), https://iatistandard.org/en/news/sierra-leone-endorse-iati.

[13] The Development Assistance Data (DAD) website is available here: http://dad.synisys.com/dadsierraleone/#.

[14] Charlie Hughes, Sierra Leone Mid-Term Report 2016-2018 (OGP, 9 Jul. 2018), https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/sierra-leone-mid-term-report-2016-2018-year-1/.

[15] Sierra Leone’s open data portal is available at: opendatasl.gov.sl (currently under maintenance).

[16] Id.

[17] Coordinator of the Budget Advocacy Network, interview with IRM researcher, 13 Aug. 2018.

[18] Id.

[19] Guinea, Liberia, Sierra Leone and the Office of the Secretary-General’s Special Adviser on Community-Based Medicine and Lessons from Haiti, The Ebola Recovery Tracking Initiative (accessed 2019), https://ebolarecovery.org; UNDP, “Ebola Response MPTF” (17 Jul. 2019), mptf.undp.org/factsheet/fund/EBO00.


Commitments

  1. Expanding community-based justice services

    SL0022, 2019, Justice

  2. Improving access to secondary school

    SL0023, 2019, Education

  3. Tax system transparency

    SL0024, 2019, Fiscal Transparency

  4. Beneficial ownership registry

    SL0025, 2019, Beneficial Ownership

  5. Improve implementation of right to access to information

    SL0026, 2019, E-Government

  6. Advancing gender equality

    SL0027, 2019, Gender

  7. Open parliament

    SL0028, 2019, Capacity Building

  8. Records and Archives Management

    SL0029, 2019, Legislation & Regulation

  9. Gender

    SL0012, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. Foriegn Aid Transparency

    SL0013, 2016, Aid

  11. Waste Management

    SL0014, 2016, Capacity Building

  12. Fiscal Transparency and Open Budget

    SL0015, 2016, E-Government

  13. Audit Report

    SL0016, 2016, Audits and Controls

  14. Climate Change

    SL0017, 2016, Capacity Building

  15. Elections

    SL0018, 2016, E-Government

  16. Record Archive Management

    SL0019, 2016, E-Government

  17. Access to Justice

    SL0020, 2016, Capacity Building

  18. Open Public Procurement Contracting

    SL0021, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  19. Publish and Revise 70% of Mining and Agricultural Lease Agreements and Contracts

    SL0009, 2014, E-Government

  20. Starred commitment Right to Access Information Law

    SL0010, 2014, Capacity Building

  21. Open Data Portal for Transparency in Fiscal and Extractive Transactions

    SL0011, 2014, E-Government

  22. Public Integrity Pact with 5 Ministries, Departments, and Agencies

    SL0001, 2014, Conflicts of Interest

  23. Archives and Records Management Act

    SL0002, 2014, E-Government

  24. Scale up Performance Management and Service Delivery Directorate

    SL0003, 2014, Public Participation

  25. Compliance with Audit Measures

    SL0004, 2014, Audits and Controls

  26. Starred commitment Single Treasure Account

    SL0005, 2014, Extractive Industries

  27. Extractive Industry Revenue Act

    SL0006, 2014, Extractive Industries

  28. Scaling up Extractive Industry Transparency Initiatives

    SL0007, 2014, Extractive Industries

  29. Local Content Policy (LCP) Linkages with MDAs

    SL0008, 2014, Capacity Building