Ignorer la navigation
Arménie

Plateforme de soumission de pétitions (AM0044)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action pour l'Arménie 2018-2020

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Ministère de la Justice

Institution(s) d'appui : Cabinet du Premier Ministre ONG « Développement Harmonieux » (sur consentement), ONG « Centre de Développement Armavir »

Domaines politiques

E-gouvernement, Pétitions électroniques, Participation du public, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport sur les résultats de la transition de l'Arménie 2018-2020, Rapport sur le design en Arménie 2018-2020

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : majeur Majeur

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : participation civique, technologie

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

10. Création d'une plate-forme électronique unifiée pour la soumission de pétitions
Date de début et de fin de l'engagement Début de l'engagement: novembre 2018
Fin de l'engagement: Août 2020
Agence d'exécution principale Ministère de la justice
Personne responsable de l'agence d'exécution Anna Harutyunyan
Titre, Département Spécialiste en chef de la Division de la justice électronique et de la mise en œuvre de programmes innovants du personnel du Ministère de la justice
Email: harutyunyanannag@gmail.com
Téléphone + 374 10 59 41 59
Autres acteurs impliqués Autres acteurs étatiques impliqués Cabinet du Premier ministre
Société civile, secteur privé ONG "Harmonious Development" (avec son consentement), ONG "Armavir Development Center"
Sujet soumis à réglementation À la suite de l'adoption de la loi sur les pétitions, toute personne a le droit de soumettre une lettre sur des questions d'intérêt public, de signaler les carences des activités des organes de l'État et des collectivités locales. et les responsables, ou une proposition sur l'amélioration des activités des organes et des responsables de l'Etat et des collectivités locales, le règlement des questions relatives aux secteurs économique, politique, social et autres de la vie civile ou l'amélioration de la réglementation légale en vigueur. Parallèlement, en vertu de la loi susmentionnée, la forme écrite et la forme électronique sont séparées pour permettre la présentation de requêtes. En conséquence, la réalisation de ce droit inscrit dans la Constitution sera plus efficace et garantie grâce à la création de la plate-forme électronique unifiée de dépôt de pétitions.

Objectif principal: Assurer l'efficacité du processus de soumission des pétitions, assurer un processus ouvert, responsable et transparent pour l'examen des pétitions, accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation des activités des organes de l'État, améliorer l'administration publique, promouvoir la coopération entre les secteurs public et privé
Brève description de l'engagement Une plateforme électronique unifiée pour la soumission de pétitions sera créée.
Le défi du PGO abordé dans l'engagement Amélioration de la confiance du public, renforcement de l'intégrité publique
Pertinence par rapport aux valeurs OGP La création de la plate-forme conduira à la transparence, à la responsabilité des activités des organes de l'Etat, à la promotion de la démocratie participative et à l'innovation
Ambition La création de la plateforme garantira la transparence et la responsabilité des activités des organes de l'État.
Encourage les efforts de mise en œuvre des objectifs ou cibles des objectifs de développement durable (ODD) 16.7: assurer une prise de décision réactive, inclusive, participative et représentative à tous les niveaux

Critères vérifiables et mesurables pour la réalisation de l'engagement
Démarrer:
Fin:
Actions en cours
Etude de la pratique internationale et développement d'une tâche technique avec des représentants d'organismes publics et d'ONG. Novembre 2018 Janvier 2019
Introduction à la plate-forme et essai Juillet 2019 Octobre 2019
Lancement complet de la plateforme Décembre 2019 Août 2020

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

10. Plate-forme pour la soumission de pétitions

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action: (91)

Brève description: Une plateforme électronique unifiée pour la soumission de pétitions sera créée.

Milestones

10.1 Etude de la pratique internationale et développement d'une tâche technique avec les représentants des agences de l'Etat et des ONG.

Introduction et essai de la plate-forme 10.2.

10.3 Lancement complet de la plateforme.

Date de début: novembre 2018

Date de fin: Août 2020

Contexte et objectifs

L'article 53 de la Constitution arménienne renouvelée stipule que toute personne a le droit de soumettre, individuellement ou conjointement, une pétition aux organes et aux responsables de l'État et des collectivités locales. Il est également indiqué que toute personne a le droit de recevoir une réponse appropriée dans un délai raisonnable. (92) Aligné sur cet article, la loi sur les pétitions adoptée dans 2017 décrit les droits des demandeurs, la procédure à suivre pour déposer une pétition, ainsi que la procédure d'enregistrement et de publication d'une pétition. Il décrit également les raisons légitimes de rejeter les pétitions. (93)

Selon la loi, des copies papier et des canaux électroniques peuvent être utilisés pour soumettre des pétitions. Lorsqu'une pétition publique est soumise (à l'aide d'un formulaire de demande spécial), s'il n'y a aucune raison de la rejeter, l'organisme public responsable publie la pétition sur la plate-forme électronique correspondante. D'autres personnes peuvent rejoindre la pétition dans les jours 30 suivant leur publication. L’organe public ou le fonctionnaire qui a reçu la pétition doit fournir une réponse dans le mois qui suit la signature. (94)

Cet engagement vise à développer une plate-forme électronique unifiée pour la soumission de pétitions. La loi sur les pétitions ne définit pas le nombre minimal de signatures pour rendre l'examen de la pétition obligatoire. Toute requête doit être examinée et traitée si aucun motif de rejet n’existe. (95) Parallèlement à cela, la Constitution identifie plusieurs possibilités d'initiatives citoyennes, telles que:

  • proposer un projet de loi au parlement s'il est signé par 50,000 ou plusieurs citoyens ayant le droit de vote, (96)
  • proposer des modifications constitutionnelles si elles sont signées par 150,000 ou plusieurs citoyens ayant le droit de vote, (97) et
  • proposer une initiative référendaire de 350,000 ou de plusieurs citoyens disposant d'un droit de vote, au cas où le projet de loi proposé par les citoyens serait rejeté par le parlement et reconnu par la Cour constitutionnelle comme conforme à la Constitution. (98)

Ainsi, la plate-forme de pétitions électroniques facilitera le lancement de pétitions proposant un projet de loi ou un référendum. De nombreuses initiatives citoyennes collectent des signatures sur des plateformes de pétitions internationales (telles que change.org et gopetition.com). Celles-ci sont généralement initiées par des organisations de défense des droits de l'homme, des organisations environnementales ou des militants politiques. (99) La possibilité de mettre en œuvre des initiatives similaires sur une plate-forme gérée par le gouvernement, avec une discussion obligatoire des pétitions par les organes de l'État concernés, pourrait améliorer le dialogue entre les citoyens et les organes de l'État. Il pourrait également fournir des solutions plus rapides aux problèmes.

Cet engagement, ainsi que la loi sur les pétitions, ne précise pas clairement si les citoyens qui adhèrent à ces pétitions doivent signer avec une signature électronique. Si des signatures électroniques sont nécessaires, cela limitera l'utilisation de la plate-forme, car la grande majorité des citoyens ne possèdent pas une telle signature. (100) Pour obtenir une signature électronique, les utilisateurs doivent acquérir une carte d’identité, un lecteur de carte à puce ou une carte mobile USIM, ainsi que payer une redevance annuelle de 3,000 AMD - environ 6 USD. Une signature électronique est également obligatoire pour utiliser les services en ligne fournis par des organismes locaux et des administrations autonomes, par exemple la soumission de rapports fiscaux et l'obtention de certificats.

Les parties prenantes interrogées dans le cadre de ce rapport considèrent généralement cet engagement comme important pour créer une base permettant une participation significative du public et une démocratie directe. Globalement, l'impact potentiel de l'engagement est jugé modéré. Il offre une nouvelle opportunité de participation du public à la prise de décision, avec un retour d’information requis. Cela peut également alimenter les initiatives législatives des citoyens et même les aider à organiser un référendum.

Prochaines étapes

Cet engagement pourrait fournir des outils supplémentaires pour la participation du public et la démocratie directe. Le chercheur de l'IRM recommande de spécifier les données nécessaires pour rejoindre les pétitions publiques (que la signature électronique soit nécessaire ou non). Le gouvernement devrait également permettre aux citoyens de rejoindre une pétition en fournissant des noms et des données de passeport (non visibles au public). Cette pratique est utilisée pour la collecte de signatures sur papier. Un autre intervenant d'une organisation de la société civile a suggéré de fixer un seuil raisonnable pour les signatures permettant un débat public obligatoire sur un problème soulevé par une pétition.

(91) Gouvernement de la République d'Arménie, Plan d'action OGP Armenia 2018-2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/Armenia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.doc.
(92) Constitution de la République d'Arménie, article 53, 06 décembre 2015, https://www.president.am/en/constitution-2015/.
(93) Loi RA sur les pétitions, 21 décembre 2017, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?DocID=119042.
(94) Loi RA sur les pétitions, 21 décembre 2017, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?DocID=119042.
(95) Les motifs de rejet comprennent les soumissions répétitives, la présentation de déclarations qui menacent l'ordre constitutionnel, contiennent un discours de haine et doivent être réglées par des organes judiciaires.
(96) Constitution de la République d'Arménie, 06 décembre 2015, article 109, https://www.president.am/en/constitution-2015/.
(97) Ibid., Article 202.
(98) Ibid., Article 204.
(99) Voir, par exemple, une pétition sur la préservation du bâtiment de l’aéroport de Zvartnots à https://bit.ly/2ITfjdvet la pétition «Stop Mining in Amulsar» à https://bit.ly/2IXOKnx 
(100) Selon les informations fournies par EKENG cjsc, société autorisée à émettre des signatures numériques électroniques en Arménie, à propos de 100,000, les citoyens arméniens ont des signatures numériques (communication électronique avec EKENG cjsc par un chercheur IRM, 06 March 2019). Ceci constitue environ 3 pour cent de la population.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

10. Plate-forme pour la soumission de pétitions

But de l'engagement

L'engagement visait à développer une plate-forme électronique unifiée pour la soumission de pétitions. Selon la Constitution arménienne, chacun a le droit de soumettre une pétition aux organes et aux fonctionnaires de l'autonomie locale et de l'État, et toute pétition doit être examinée et traitée s'il n'y a aucune raison de rejet. La plate-forme de pétitions électroniques visait à faciliter le processus de soumission de pétitions et d'obtenir des partisans si nécessaire. Ces pétitions peuvent être utilisées non seulement pour résoudre des problèmes spécifiques, mais aussi pour proposer des projets de loi ou lancer un référendum.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Majeur

Le ministère de la Justice a mené une étude de la pratique internationale en 2018 et a élaboré les termes de référence de la plate-forme électronique de dépôt de pétitions. Le ministère a basé les termes sur les résultats de l'étude et la disposition de la loi de la RA sur les pétitions. (23) Le ministère de la Justice a élaboré des amendements à la loi sur les pétitions sur la base des suggestions fournies par le bureau du vice-premier ministre. Ces modifications visent à incorporer le concept et les détails concernant la plate-forme électronique. Le ministère a présenté les projets d'amendements pour discussion publique en juillet 2020 (24) et le Parlement les a adoptés le 24 mars 2021. (25) Entre juin et août 2020, l'Unité de mise en œuvre de l'infrastructure de gouvernance électronique (EKENG CJSC), en coordination avec le Cabinet du Vice-Premier ministre, a piloté la nouvelle plateforme http://e-petition.am/, qui est pleinement opérationnel depuis septembre 2020.

La plateforme permet de présenter des pétitions ; recueillir les signatures des supporters, au cas où la pétition serait publique ; et obtenir des réponses des institutions étatiques concernées. Au moment de la rédaction de ce rapport, la plateforme comportait cinq pétitions collectives et quatre individuelles, et six d'entre elles avaient déjà reçu des réponses. La plupart des réponses présentaient des informations sur la réglementation actuelle de la question (certaines avec des explications détaillées). Les réponses mentionnaient également que les questions soulevées dans la pétition seraient examinées plus avant lors de la discussion des actes et décisions juridiques pertinents. Par exemple, en réponse à la pétition appelant à interdire la vente gratuite de feux d'artifice et de matériaux pyrotechniques, le gouvernement a fourni une liste d'actes législatifs connexes et a indiqué qu'il était prévu d'incorporer les réglementations pertinentes sur les ventes d'articles pyrotechniques dans ces actes.

Le citoyen à l'origine de la pétition choisit si elle et les réponses sont publiées. Un examen des réponses publiées sur la plate-forme montre que les décideurs concernés des institutions de l'État ont pris en compte la plupart des questions soulevées. Le principal facteur contribuant à la faible utilisation de la plate-forme pourrait être l'obligation de s'inscrire avec une carte d'identité et de fournir une signature électronique lors de la soumission d'une pétition. Ces caractéristiques ne sont pas accessibles à la majorité de la population arménienne. (26) Actuellement, le gouvernement discute de la possibilité de remplacer ces mécanismes d'identification par des outils plus accessibles. (27) Le manque de grandes activités de sensibilisation du public, qui ont été reportées pour le moment, contribue également à la faible utilisation.

Les citoyens arméniens et les organisations de la société civile utilisent souvent des plateformes de pétition internationales (telles que change.org) pour promouvoir leurs causes. La société civile et le gouvernement s'attendent à ce que la nouvelle plate-forme de pétition électronique serve de substitut à ces plates-formes pour traiter les problèmes nationaux. Pour cette raison, et parce que les commentaires des organismes publics concernés sont obligatoires, la société civile et les parties prenantes du gouvernement ont estimé que cet engagement était une étape importante vers le renforcement à la fois de la participation publique et de la démocratie directe. (28)

Avant cet engagement, les citoyens souhaitant soumettre des pétitions devaient recueillir à la main le nombre requis de signatures et soumettre les documents au gouvernement sous forme de copies papier. La nouvelle plate-forme électronique a considérablement simplifié ce processus et rend plus possible la mobilisation des partisans des pétitions, compte tenu des larges possibilités de diffusion via les réseaux sociaux et autres canaux électroniques. Compte tenu des opportunités que la plate-forme offre aux citoyens - et du potentiel de son utilisation ultérieure en révisant les schémas d'identification existants - cet engagement a conduit à une avancée majeure en matière de participation civique.

(23) Communication électronique avec Anna Harutyunyan (Ministère de la Justice), 11 décembre 2020.
(25) Loi de la RA sur les modifications et compléments à la loi de la RA « sur les pétitions », du 24 mars 2021, Système d'information juridique arménien, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?docid=151235.
(26) Selon les informations fournies au chercheur de l'IRM par EKENG cjsc, environ 1.2 million de citoyens arméniens possèdent des cartes d'identité, et environ 160,000 13 d'entre eux ont déjà activé des signatures numériques (communication électronique avec Araks Avetyan, EKENG cjsc, 2021 avril XNUMX). Pour plus d'informations, consultez Open Government Partnership, IRM : Rapport sur la conception de l'Arménie 2018-2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Armenia_Design-Report_2018-2020_EN.pdf
(27) Suren Krmoyan (Bureau du Premier ministre de la République d'Arménie), entretien avec un chercheur de l'IRM, 13 novembre 2020.
(28) Open Government Partnership, IRM : Rapport sur la conception de l'Arménie 2018-2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Armenia_Design-Report_2018-2020_EN.pdf.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Armenia

Platform for Submitting Petitions (AM0044)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Armenia Action Plan 2018-2020

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry of Justice

Support Institution(s): Office of the Prime Minister "Harmonious Development" NGO (upon consent), "Armavir Development Center" NGO

Policy Areas

E-Government, E-petitions, Public Participation, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Armenia Transitional Results Report 2018-2020, Armenia Design Report 2018-2020

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: Major Major

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation , Technology

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

10. Creation of a unified electronic platform for submitting petitions
Commitment Start and End Date Commitment Start: November 2018
Commitment End: August 2020
Lead implementing agency Ministry of Justice
Person responsible from implementing agency Anna Harutyunyan
Title, Department Chief specialist of the Division for Electronic Justice and Implementation of Innovative Programmes of the Staff of the Ministry of Justice
Email: harutyunyanannag@gmail.com
Phone + 374 10 59 41 59
Other actors involved Other state actors involved Office of the Prime Minister
Civil society, private sector "Harmonious Development" NGO (upon consent), "Armavir Development Center" NGO
Issue subject to regulation As a result of adoption of the Law of the Republic of Armenia "On petitions", each person has the right to submit a letter on matters of public significance, report on shortcomings of activities of state and local self-government bodies and officials, or a proposal on improving the activities of state and local self-government bodies and officials, settlement of issues relating to economic, political, social and other sectors of civil life or improvement of legal regulations in effect. At the same time, by the above-mentioned Law, both the written form and electronic way are separated as a way of submitting petitions. Accordingly, realisation of this constitutionally-enshrined right will be more effective and guaranteed as a result of creation of the unified electronic platform for submitting petitions.

Main objective Ensuring the effective process for submitting petitions, ensuring an open, accountable and transparent process for consideration of petitions, increasing the transparency and accountability of activities of state bodies, improving public administration, promoting the state-private sector cooperation
Brief Description of Commitment A unified electronic platform for submitting petitions will be created
OGP challenge addressed by the commitment Improvement of public confidence, enhancement of public integrity
Relevance to OGP values Creation of the platform will lead to transparency, accountability of activities of state bodies, promotion of participatory democracy and innovation
Ambition Creation of the platform will ensure the transparency and accountability of activities of state bodies
Promotes efforts for implementation of SDG Goals or Targets 16.7: ensure responsive, inclusive, participatory and representative decision-making at all levels

Verifiable and measurable criteria for performance of commitment
Start:
End:
Ongoing Actions
Study of the international practice and development of a technical task with the state agencies’ and NGOs’ representatives November 2018 January 2019
Platform introduction and trial July 2019 October 2019
Full launch of platform December 2019 August 2020

IRM Midterm Status Summary

10. Platform for Submitting Petitions

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan: [91]

Brief description: A unified electronic platform for submitting petitions will be created.

Milestones

10.1 Study of the international practice and development of a technical task with the state agencies’ and NGOs’ representatives.

10.2 Platform introduction and trial.

10.3 Full launch of platform.

Start Date: November 2018

End Date: August 2020

Context and Objectives

Article 53 of the renewed Armenian Constitution states that everyone shall have the right to submit, either individually or jointly, a petition to state and local self-government bodies and officials. It also states that everyone has the right to receive an appropriate reply within a reasonable time period. [92] Aligned with this article, the law on petitions adopted in 2017, describes the rights of petition applicants, the procedure for filing a petition, and the procedure for registration and publication of a petition. It also describes legitimate reasons for rejecting petitions. [93]

According to the law, both hard copies and electronic channels can be used for submitting petitions. When a public petition is submitted (by using a special application form), if there are no reasons for its rejection, the responsible state body shall publish the petition on the relevant electronic platform. Other persons can join the petition within 30 days of publication. The state body or official that received the petition must provide a response within one month after the signature period. [94]

This commitment aims to develop a unified electronic platform for submitting petitions. The law on petitions does not define the minimum number of signatures to make examination of the petition mandatory. Any petition must be examined and responded to if there are no reasons for rejection. [95] Along with this, the Constitution identifies several possibilities for citizen initiatives, such as:

  • proposing a draft law to the parliament if signed by 50,000 or more citizens having a right to vote, [96]
  • proposing constitutional changes if signed by 150,000 or more citizens having a right to vote, [97] and
  • proposing a referendum initiative by 350,000 or more citizens with a right to vote, in case the draft law proposed by citizens was rejected by the parliament and recognized by the Constitutional Court as compliant with the Constitution. [98]

Thus, the electronic petitions platform will make it easier to start petitions to propose a draft law or initiate a referendum. Many citizen initiatives collect signatures in international petition platforms (such as change.org and gopetition.com). These are usually initiated by human rights or environmental organizations, or political activists. [99] The opportunity to implement similar initiatives on a government-administered platform with mandatory discussion of petitions by relevant state bodies could improve dialogue between citizens and state bodies. It could also provide faster solutions to issues.

This commitment, as well as the law on petitions, does not clearly outline whether citizens joining the petitions need to sign with an electronic signature. If electronic signatures are needed, this will limit the use of the platform, as the vast majority of citizens do not have such a signature. [100] To get an electronic signature, users must acquire an ID card, obtain a smart card reader machine or USIM mobile card, and pay an annual fee of 3,000 AMD—about 6 USD. An electronic signature is also mandatory for using online services provided by state and local self-government bodies—for example, submitting tax reports and getting certificates.

The stakeholders interviewed for this report generally find this commitment important for creating a basis for meaningful public participation and direct democracy. Overall, the potential impact of the commitment is assessed as moderate. It provides a new opportunity for public participation in decision making, with feedback required. It can also fuel legislative initiatives by citizens and even help them to organize a referendum.

Next steps

The commitment could provide additional tools for public participation and direct democracy. The IRM researcher recommends specifying the data needed for joining public petitions (whether electronic signature is needed or not). The government should also allow citizens to join a petition through providing names and passport data (not visible for public). This practice is used for hard-copy collection of signatures. Another civil society organization stakeholder suggested setting a reasonable threshold for signatures that will enable mandatory public discussion on an issue raised by a petition.

[91] Government of the Republic of Armenia, OGP Armenia Action Plan 2018-2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/Armenia_Action-Plan_2018-2020_EN.doc.
[92] Constitution of the Republic of Armenia, article 53, 06 December 2015, https://www.president.am/en/constitution-2015/.
[93] RA Law On Petitions, 21 December 2017, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?DocID=119042.
[94] RA Law On Petitions, 21 December 2017, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?DocID=119042.
[95] Reasons for rejection include repetitive submission, presenting statements that threaten constitutional order, contain hate speech, and needs settlement by judicial bodies.
[96] Constitution of the Republic of Armenia, 06 December 2015, article 109, https://www.president.am/en/constitution-2015/.
[97] Ibid., article 202.
[98] Ibid., article 204.
[99] See, for example, a petition on preserving Zvartnots airport building at https://bit.ly/2ITfjdv, and “Stop Mining in Amulsar” petition at https://bit.ly/2IXOKnx 
[100] According to the information provided by EKENG cjsc—the company authorized to issue electronic digital signatures in Armenia—about 100,000 citizens of Armenia have digital signatures (electronic communication with EKENG cjsc by IRM researcher, 06 March 2019). This constitutes about 3 percent of the population.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

10. Platform for Submitting Petitions

Aim of the commitment

The commitment aimed to develop a unified electronic platform for submitting petitions. According to the Armenian Constitution, everyone has a right to submit a petition to state and local self-government bodies and officials, and any petition must be examined and responded to if there are no reasons for rejection. The platform of electronic petitions aimed to facilitate the process of submitting petitions and getting supporters as necessary. Such petitions can be used not only to solve specific issues but also to propose draft laws or initiate a referendum.

Did it open government?

Major

The Ministry of Justice conducted a study of the international practice in 2018 and developed the terms of reference for the electronic platform for submitting petitions. The ministry based the terms on the study findings and the provision of the RA Law on Petitions. [23] The Ministry of Justice has developed amendments to the Law on Petitions based on suggestions provided by the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister. These amendments aim to incorporate the concept and details regarding the electronic platform. The ministry presented the draft amendments for public discussions in July 2020 [24] and the Parliament adopted them on 24 March 2021. [25] Between June and August 2020, the e-Governance Infrastructure Implementation Unit (EKENG CJSC), in coordination with the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, piloted the new platform http://e-petition.am/, which has been fully operational since September 2020.

The platform provides an opportunity to present petitions; collect supporters’ signatures, in case the petition is public; and get responses from relevant state institutions. When this report was written, the platform featured five collective and four individual petitions, and six of them had already received responses. Most of the responses presented information on the current regulations of the issue (some with detailed explanation). Responses also mentioned that the issues raised in the petition would be further considered in discussion of relevant legal acts and decisions. For example, in response to the petition calling to set a ban on the free sale of fireworks and pyrotechnical materials, the government provided a list of related legislative acts and mentioned that incorporation of relevant regulations on pyrotechnics sales into these acts was planned.

The citizen initiating the petition chooses whether it and the responses are published. A review of the responses published on the platform shows that the relevant decision makers at state institutions have considered most of the issues raised. The main factor contributing to low usage of the platform might be the requirement to register with an ID card and to provide an electronic signature when submitting a petition. These features are not accessible to the majority of Armenia’s population. [26] Currently, the government is discussing the possibility of replacing these identification mechanisms with more accessible tools. [27] Lack of large public awareness activities, which have been postponed at the moment, also contributes to low usage.

Armenian citizens and civil society organizations often use international petition platforms (such as change.org) to promote their causes. Civil society and the government expect the new e-petition platform to serve as a substitute for these platforms when addressing domestic issues. For this reason—and because feedback from relevant state bodies is mandatory—civil society and government stakeholders found this commitment to be an important step toward strengthening both public participation and direct democracy. [28]

Prior to this commitment, citizens wishing to submit petitions had to collect the required number of signatures by hand and submit the documents to the government as hard copies. The new electronic platform has significantly simplified this process and makes it more feasible to mobilize supporters for petitions, considering the wide possibilities of dissemination via social networks and other electronic channels. Given the opportunities the platform provides citizens—and the potential for its further usage by revising the existing identification schemes—this commitment has led to a major advancement regarding civic participation.

[23] Electronic communication with Anna Harutyunyan (Ministry of Justice), 11 December 2020.
[25] RA Law on Amendments and Supplements to the RA Law ‘On Petitions’, dated 24 March 2021, Armenian Legal Information System, https://www.arlis.am/DocumentView.aspx?docid=151235.
[26] According to the information provided to the IRM researcher by EKENG cjsc, approximately 1.2 million citizens of Armenia have ID cards, and about 160,000 of them have ever activated digital signatures (electronic communication with Araks Avetyan, EKENG cjsc, 13 April 2021). For more information, see Open Government Partnership, IRM: Armenia Design Report 2018–2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Armenia_Design-Report_2018-2020_EN.pdf
[27] Suren Krmoyan (Office of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia), interview by IRM researcher, 13 November 2020.
[28] Open Government Partnership, IRM: Armenia Design Report 2018–2020, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Armenia_Design-Report_2018-2020_EN.pdf.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership