Ignorer la navigation
Malte

Participation des femmes à la fonction publique (MT0008)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Malte, deuxième plan d'action, 2015-2017

Cycle du plan d'action: 2015

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file: Ministère de la famille et de la solidarité sociale

Institution (s) de soutien: Cabinet du Premier ministre; Ministère de l'éducation et de l'emploi; Ministère du dialogue social, de la consommation et des libertés civiles

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, Genre, Travail, Communautés marginalisées, Secteur privé

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Malte Rapport de fin de trimestre 2015-2017, Malte Rapport d'avancement à mi-parcours 2015-2017

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs OGP: non pertinent

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

L’objectif général est d’accroître la participation des femmes à la fonction publique en mettant l’accent sur des mesures plus favorables à la famille et des initiatives favorisant l’équilibre travail-vie.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Engagement 1. Participation des femmes à la fonction publique

Texte d'engagement:

L’objectif général est d’accroître la participation des femmes à la fonction publique en mettant l’accent sur des mesures plus favorables à la famille et des initiatives favorisant l’équilibre travail-vie.

Jalons:

Plus grande disponibilité de mesures favorables à la famille (telles que le télétravail, la réduction des heures de travail, le partage du travail, la semaine de travail comprimée et les horaires de travail flexibles).

Mettre en place une / des garderie (s) dans les zones où il y a une forte concentration de services publics et de bureaux du secteur public, facilitant ainsi l’accès entre les mères qui travaillent et leurs enfants, par exemple à La Valette.

Intensifier / réorganiser la formation en compétences de leadership stratégique pour donner aux femmes les moyens d’occuper des postes de décision difficiles au sein de la fonction publique / secteur public, tout en les aidant également à trouver un meilleur équilibre entre leurs exigences professionnelles et leurs responsabilités familiales.

Institution (s) responsable (s): Ministère de la famille et de la solidarité sociale

Institution (s) auxiliaire (s): Cabinet du Premier ministre, ministère de l'Education et de l'Emploi, ministère du Dialogue social, de la Consommation et des Libertés civiles

Date de début: 1 Janvier 2015 Date de fin: 31 Décembre 2017

But de l'engagement:

Cet engagement vise le faible taux de participation des femmes à la fonction publique en s'attaquant aux problèmes auxquels elles sont confrontées pour concilier vie professionnelle et vie familiale. Sur la base de cet engagement, Malte visait à introduire des mesures concernant les options de garde d'enfants et les horaires de travail, ainsi que la capacité technique des femmes à occuper des postes de responsabilité dans la fonction publique.

Statut

Mi-parcours: limité

L’évaluation à mi-parcours a limité la réalisation de cet engagement. Le chercheur de l'IRM n'a pas été en mesure de recueillir des informations sur l'introduction de mesures favorables à la famille et sur l'organisation de cours de leadership stratégique spécifiquement destinés aux femmes.[Note10: Rapport d'avancement sur Malte, 2015-2017, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Malta_Progress_2015-2017.pdf ] Dans le rapport de mi-parcours, la chercheuse a noté que le nombre de crèches ouvertes ou opérationnelles dans les zones à forte concentration d'entités publiques était limité à deux des centres enregistrés 108.

Fin de période: limitée

En dehors d'un manuel en ligne[Note11: le rapport a été mis à jour le décembre 2017, https://publicservice.gov.mt/en/Documents/Public%20Service%20Management%20Code/PSMC%20Manuals/Manual_on_Work-Life_Balance_Measures.pdf ] mesures d’équilibre travail-vie privée pour les employés du secteur public à Malte, laIl n’existe aucune preuve publiquement disponible montrant que de nouvelles mesures favorables à la famille ont été adoptées au cours de ce cycle du plan d’action. Selon le rapport d'auto-évaluation, les garderies 108 sont actuellement actives et enregistrées auprès du ministère de l'Education et de l'Emploi. Depuis le rapport d'avancement, aucune nouvelle garderie n'a été ouverte, comme l'indique le registre en ligne mis à jour en septembre 2017.[Note12: site Web du gouvernement maltais, programme de garderies gratuites, https://education.gov.mt/en/Pages/Free-Childcare.aspx] En outre, selon les informations fournies par le point de contact gouvernemental, aucun cours de leadership stratégique n'a été spécifiquement conçu ou mis en œuvre pour les femmes, mis à part le programme de mentorat conçu avant la mise en œuvre de cet engagement.[Note13: À 2015, la Commission nationale pour la promotion de l'égalité (NCPE) a lancé un programme de mentorat financé par le Fonds social européen. Ce programme est mentionné dans le rapport d'auto-évaluation du gouvernement. ]

En outre, l'Association pour l'égalité entre les hommes et les femmes a déclaré, dans un article de presse paru dans 2018 en mars, que les rapports sur les mesures favorables à la famille, publiés jusqu'à 2014, ont été arrêtés par le gouvernement et que "les questions concernant les femmes ne sont pas une priorité pour le gouvernement".[Note14: The Malta Independent, http://www.independent.com.mt/articles/2018-03-08/local-news/Women-s-issues-are-not-a-priority-for-government-Association-for-Gender-Equality-6736185891] Le chercheur de l’IRM n’a pas pu vérifier ces informations, aucune des OSC contactées n’ayant répondu aux questions concernant cet engagement.[Note15: Le chercheur de l'IRM a contacté la Confédération des organisations de femmes de Malte (MCWO), le Forum anti-pauvreté et la Fédération des associations professionnelles de Malte par courrier électronique et par téléphone les fin avril et début mai 2018. En particulier, une représentante de la MCWO a indiqué au personnel de l'IRM que, même si elle avait reçu les demandes de renseignements par courrier électronique, elle ne pouvait ni répondre ni programmer un appel en raison du manque de temps et de ressources de l'organisation.]

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

N'a pas changé

Le rapport d'avancement notait la pertinence peu claire de cet engagement vis-à-vis des valeurs du PGO, dans la mesure où il ne faisait pas clairement progresser l'accès à l'information, la participation des citoyens ou la responsabilité publique. La chercheuse de l'IRM a contacté la Confédération des organisations de femmes de Malte (MCWO), le Forum anti-pauvreté et la Fédération des associations professionnelles de Malte pour s'informer des changements éventuels résultant de cet engagement, mais n'a reçu aucune réponse.

L’ouverture des garderies a été notée à mi-parcours, mais rien n’indique que la pratique du gouvernement ait changé pour que la participation des femmes à la fonction publique ou à la prise de décision au niveau gouvernemental soit améliorée.

Reportés?

Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport, le gouvernement de Malte n'avait pas publié le projet de troisième plan d'action national. Le chercheur ne recommande pas de poursuivre cet engagement car il n’est pas clair en ce qui concerne les valeurs OGP.


Engagements

  1. Gouvernement

    MT0013, 2018, gouvernement électronique

  2. Intégration des îles maltaises

    MT0014, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  3. Investir dans la technologie

    MT0015, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  4. Amélioration des relations industrielles et de l'emploi

    MT0016, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  5. Renforcement de la Commission contre la violence domestique

    MT0017, 2018, Accès à la justice

  6. Participation des femmes à la fonction publique

    MT0008, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  7. Partage de connaissances des fonctionnaires

    MT0009, 2015, Renforcement des capacités

  8. Services en ligne en ligne

    MT0010, 2015, gouvernement électronique

  9. Accès du public à l'information

    MT0011, 2015, Accès à l'information

  10. Dialogue social

    MT0012, 2015, Accès à l'information

  11. Avoir des plages plus propres

    MT0001, 2012, Environnement et climat

  12. Construction de routes plus sûres

    MT0002, 2012, Infrastructure et transport

  13. Environnement

    MT0003, 2012, Environnement et climat

  14. Transparence des dépenses publiques

    MT0004, 2012, Ouverture fiscale

  15. Fiscalité et avantages sociaux

    MT0005, 2012, Ouverture fiscale

  16. Approvisionnement

    MT0006, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  17. Guichet unique pour les citoyens

    MT0007, 2012, Prestation de services publics

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Malta

Participation of Women in the Public Service (MT0008)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Malta, Second Action Plan, 2015-17

Action Plan Cycle: 2015

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Ministry for the Family and Social Solidarity

Support Institution(s): Office of the Prime Minister; Ministry for Education and Employment; Ministry for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, Gender, Labor, Marginalized Communities, Private Sector

IRM Review

IRM Report: Malta End-of-Term Report 2015-2017

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Not Relevant

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

The overall objective is to increase the participation of women in the public service by focusing on more family friendly measures and work life balance initiatives.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

Commitment 1. Participation of women in the public service

Commitment Text:

The overall objective is to increase the participation of women in the public service by focusing on more family friendly measures and work life balance initiatives.

Milestones:

Wider availability of family-friendly measures (such as tele-working, reduced hours, job sharing, compressed working week and flexible work schedules).

Set up childcare centre/s in those area/s where there is high concentration of public service and public sector offices thus facilitating access between working mothers and their children example, in Valletta.

Intensify/redesign training in strategic leadership skills to empower women to take up challenging and decision making positions within the public service/public sector but also helps them devise better balance between their work demands and family responsibilities.

Responsible Institution(s): Ministry for the Family and Social Solidarity

Supporting Institution(s): Office of the Prime Minister, Ministry for Education and Employment, Ministry for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties

Start Date: 1 January 2015 End Date: 31 December 2017

Commitment Aim:

This commitment targets the low level of female participation in public service by tackling challenges faced by women in balancing their working and family lives. On the basis of this commitment, Malta aimed to introduce measures addressing childcare options and working hours, and also the technical capacity of women to hold senior positions within the public service.

Status

Midterm: Limited

This commitment was limited in completion by the midterm assessment. The IRM researcher was unable to secure information in relation to the introduction of family-friendly measures, and in relation to the organisation of strategic leadership courses specifically targeting women.[Note10: Malta Progress Report 2015-2017, https://www.opengovpartnership.org/wp-content/uploads/2001/01/Malta_Progress_2015-2017.pdf ] In the midterm report the researcher noted that the number of childcare centres opened or operational in areas with a high concentration of public entities was limited to two of 108 registered centres.

End-of-term: Limited

Apart from an online manual[Note11: The report was updated on December 2017, https://publicservice.gov.mt/en/Documents/Public%20Service%20Management%20Code/PSMC%20Manuals/Manual_on_Work-Life_Balance_Measures.pdf ] on work-life balance measures for public sector employees in Malta, there is no publicly available evidence that shows that new family-friendly measures were adopted during this action plan cycle. According to the self-assessment report, 108 childcare centres are currently active and registered with the Ministry for Education and Employment. Since the progress report, no new childcare centres were opened, as evidenced in the online registry updated on September 2017.[Note12: Maltese Government website, Free Childcare Scheme, https://education.gov.mt/en/Pages/Free-Childcare.aspx] Also, according to the information provided by the government point of contact, no strategic leadership courses were specifically designed or implemented for women, apart from the Mentoring Program which was conceived prior to the implementation of this commitment.[Note13: In 2015, the National Commission for the Promotion of Equality (NCPE) launched a mentoring programme funded by the European Social Fund. This programme is mentioned in the self-assessment government report. ]

Moreover, the Association for Gender Equality expressed, in a newspaper article in March 2018, that family-friendly measures reports, which were issued until 2014, were halted by the government and that 'women issues are not a priority for the government'.[Note14: The Malta Independent, http://www.independent.com.mt/articles/2018-03-08/local-news/Women-s-issues-are-not-a-priority-for-government-Association-for-Gender-Equality-6736185891] The IRM researcher could not verify this information as none of the CSOs contacted answered the queries regarding this commitment.[Note15: The IRM researcher contacted the Malta Confederation of Women’s Organisations (MCWO), the Anti-Poverty Forum and the Malta Federation of Professional Associations by email and phone call at the end of April and the beginning of May 2018. In particular, a representative of the MCWO expressed to the IRM staff that although she had received the enquiries via email she could neither answer, nor schedule a call, due to the lack of time and resources of the organisation.]

Did It Open Government?

Did Not Change

The progress report noted the unclear relevance of this commitment to OGP values as it did not clearly advance access to information, citizen participation or public accountability. The IRM researcher reached out to the Malta Confederation of Women’s Organisations (MCWO), the Anti-Poverty Forum, and the Malta Federation of Professional Associations to inquire about any changes resulting from this commitment, but received no response.

The opening of childcare centres was noted at the midterm, but there is no evidence pointing to changes in government practice towards advancing female participation in public service or government decision making at large.

Carried Forward?

At the time of writing this report, the government of Malta had not published the draft of the third national action plan. The researcher does not recommend carrying this commitment forward as it has unclear relevance to OGP values.


Commitments

  1. M-Government

    MT0013, 2018, E-Government

  2. Integration of Maltese Islands

    MT0014, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Investing in Technology

    MT0015, 2018, Capacity Building

  4. Industrial and Employment Relations Improvements

    MT0016, 2018, Capacity Building

  5. Strengthening Commission for Domestic Violence

    MT0017, 2018, Capacity Building

  6. Participation of Women in the Public Service

    MT0008, 2015, Capacity Building

  7. Public Servant Knowledge Sharing

    MT0009, 2015, Capacity Building

  8. e-Services Online

    MT0010, 2015, E-Government

  9. Public Access to Information

    MT0011, 2015, E-Government

  10. Social Dialogue

    MT0012, 2015, Capacity Building

  11. Having Cleaner Beaches

    MT0001, 2012, Environment and Climate

  12. Construction of Safer Roads

    MT0002, 2012, Infrastructure & Transport

  13. Environment

    MT0003, 2012, Environment and Climate

  14. Transparency in Public Spending

    MT0004, 2012, Oversight of Budget/Fiscal Policies

  15. Taxation and Benefits Abuses

    MT0005, 2012, Oversight of Budget/Fiscal Policies

  16. Procurement

    MT0006, 2012, Open Contracting and Procurement

  17. One-Stop Shop for Citizens

    MT0007, 2012, Public Service Delivery