Ignorer la navigation

Parlements en OGP

Bon nombre des principales aspirations du mouvement pour un gouvernement ouvert - poursuivre des approches fondées sur les droits pour un gouvernement ouvert, institutionnaliser les réformes, promouvoir et protéger l'espace civique, défendre les processus démocratiques et assurer une réponse ouverte, une reprise et un renouveau après la pandémie de COVID-19 - nécessitent le soutien et l'adhésion des parlements. Les citoyens demandent également de plus en plus que les parlements soient plus ouverts, inclusifs et efficaces dans la représentation des intérêts de tous. 

Depuis le lancement de l'OGP, l'engagement parlementaire fait partie intégrante de la philosophie du gouvernement ouvert et est un élément clé pour réaliser des réformes ambitieuses du gouvernement ouvert. L'engagement parlementaire dans l'OGP va de la participation active des parlements aux forums multipartites nationaux et des engagements de premier plan dans le plan d'action national à la convocation de leurs propres processus de co-création. 

Dans le contexte du gouvernement ouvert, les parlements ont spécifiquement un rôle à jouer dans :

  • Prendre des mesures législatives : Défendre les valeurs du gouvernement ouvert en introduisant, en examinant et en ratifiant la législation relative au gouvernement ouvert ou en approuvant les budgets pour la réforme du gouvernement ouvert.
  • Assurer le contrôle parlementaire : Tenir les gouvernements responsables des réformes du gouvernement ouvert et ouvrir leurs propres processus de contrôle à l'examen public.
  • Ouvrir les processus parlementaires: Adopter des principes de gouvernement ouvert – transparence, responsabilité, participation et inclusion – dans l'institution et les processus parlementaires.
  • Créer un espace de dialogue : Favoriser le dialogue et le soutien entre les partis nécessaires pour faire avancer et institutionnaliser les réformes du gouvernement ouvert.

Proposition de valeur de l'engagement des parlements dans l'OGP

L'engagement des parlements dans l'OGP - que ce soit par le biais d'une participation formelle à la co-création ou d'autres moyens de coordination - devrait profiter à toutes les parties prenantes de l'OGP. 

Pour les parlements, l'engagement avec la plate-forme OGP au niveau national peut fournir un mécanisme supplémentaire pour entendre les citoyens et la société civile entre les cycles électoraux sur la façon dont ils peuvent mieux servir les personnes qu'ils représentent, et se tenir au courant des engagements que les gouvernements prennent et doivent être tenus responsables de . À l'échelle internationale, OGP fournit une plate-forme mondiale d'apprentissage par les pairs, accédant à l'expertise du vaste réseau de praticiens d'OGP et présentant les succès. 

Pour le pouvoir exécutif, l'engagement parlementaire ouvre des opportunités pour obtenir une législation qui permet des engagements de la branche exécutive, des ressources pour la mise en œuvre et l'institutionnalisation des réformes. Lorsque le pouvoir exécutif engage les citoyens et la société civile dans les processus de co-création de leur plan d'action national OGP, les contributions de ces groupes reflètent souvent des aspirations ou des griefs qui ne peuvent être traités par le seul pouvoir exécutif. 

Pour les organisations de la société civile, l'engagement parlementaire est un aspect crucial pour garantir la durabilité des réformes dans les administrations et les cycles politiques, et pour défendre les intérêts et les droits des citoyens.


Approche de l'OGP en matière d'engagement parlementaire

Les parlements qui décident de s'engager avec l'OGP ont les options suivantes :

  1. Participation au processus OGP national ou local
  2. Participation via la soumission d'un plan de parlement ouvert autonome
  3. Promouvoir l'ouverture au-delà de la plate-forme OGP

La mémorandum pour l'engagement parlementaire dans l'OGP expose la justification et l'approche de l'engagement parlementaire dans l'OGP. L'espace et les spécificités de l'engagement parlementaire dans chaque processus OGP sont principalement déterminés par les acteurs nationaux impliqués dans le dialogue. L'engagement parlementaire est fortement recommandé, en particulier lorsqu'il peut faire avancer des réformes cruciales du gouvernement ouvert, mais ce n'est pas une exigence de l'OGP pour la participation.

Matériel d'orientation 


Recommandations

Explorez notre liste de recommandations pour les actions que les parlements peuvent entreprendre pour faire progresser le gouvernement ouvert par la législation, le contrôle, l'ouverture des institutions et des processus parlementaires et la promotion du dialogue.


Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation

Parliaments in OGP

Many of the key aspirations of the open government movement – pursuing rights-based approaches to open government, institutionalizing reforms, promoting and protecting civic space, defending democratic processes, and ensuring an open response, recovery, and renewal from the COVID-19 pandemic – require the support  and buy-in of parliaments. There is also a growing demand from citizens for parliaments to be more open, inclusive, and effective in representing the interests of all. 

Since OGP launched, parliamentary engagement has been an integral part of the open government philosophy and a key element to achieve ambitious open government reforms. Parliamentary engagement in OGP ranges from parliaments actively participating in national multistakeholder fora and leading commitments in the national action plan to convening their own co-creation processes. 

In the open government context, parliaments specifically have a role to play in:

  • Taking legislative action: Championing open government values by introducing, reviewing and ratifying legislation relevant to open government or approving budgets for open government reform.
  • Ensuring parliamentary oversight: Holding governments accountable for open government reforms and opening up their own oversight processes to public scrutiny.
  • Opening up parliamentary processes: Adopting open government principles – transparency, accountability, participation and inclusion – in the parliamentary institution and processes.
  • Creating space for dialogue: Fostering cross-party dialogue and support needed to advance and institutionalize open government reforms.

Value Proposition of Engaging Parliaments in OGP

Engagement of parliaments in OGP – whether through formal participation in co-creation or other means of coordination – stands to benefit all OGP stakeholders. 

For parliaments, engagement with the OGP platform domestically can provide an additional mechanism to hear from citizens and civil society between electoral cycles on how they can better serve the people they represent, and stay abreast of the commitments governments are taking on and need to be held accountable for. Internationally, OGP provides a global platform for peer learning, accessing expertise from OGP’s vast network of practitioners, and showcasing successes. 

For the executive branch, parliamentary engagement opens up opportunities for securing legislation that enables executive branch commitments, resourcing for implementation, and institutionalizing reforms. When the executive branch engages citizens and civil society in their OGP national action plan co-creation processes, inputs from these groups often reflect aspirations or grievances that cannot be addressed by the executive action alone. 

For civil society organizations, parliamentary engagement is a crucial aspect of securing the sustainability of reforms across administrations and political cycles, and for advocating for citizen interests and rights.


OGP’s Approach to Parliamentary Engagement

Parliaments that decide to engage with OGP have the following options:

  1. Participation in the national or local OGP process
  2. Participation via submission of a standalone Open Parliament Plan
  3. Promote openness beyond the OGP platform

The memorandum for parliamentary engagement in OGP sets out the rationale and approach for parliamentary engagement in OGP. The space for, and specifics of, parliamentary engagement in each OGP process are primarily determined by domestic actors involved in the dialogue. Parliamentary engagement is strongly recommended, especially where it can advance critical open government reforms, but it is not an OGP requirement for participation.

Guidance Materials 


Recommendations

Explore our list of recommendations for actions that parliaments can take to advance open government through legislation, oversight, opening up parliamentary institutions and processes, and fostering dialogue.


Commitments


Resources

Find useful resources regarding working with Parliaments in OGP below. For more information about OGP’s Open Parliaments work, click here.

Screen Shot 2022-06-03 at 12.49.14 PM

Parliamentary Engagement in National OGP Processes: Menu of Options (2022)

This document complements the Memorandum on Parliamentary Engagement, adopted by the OGP Steering Committee in November 2021. It captures the approaches taken by a growing number of OGP members, illustrating how parliaments can participate in OGP and help advance the…

OGP-Parliamentary-Action-Plan-Guidance_Last-Updated-23-May-2022-pdf[1]

Guidance for OGP Parliamentary Action Plans (2022)

The Memorandum on Parliamentary Engagement adopted by the OGP Steering Committee in November 2021 outlines three models for parliamentary engagement in OGP: direct participation in the national or local OGP process; stand-alone open parliament plans (hereby known as OGP parliamentary…

Parliaments_Recs_Photo by Aditya Joshi on Unsplash_aditya-joshi-FOhw4A1CR1Q-unsplash

Parliaments in OGP – Recommendations

Explore our list of recommendations for actions that parliaments can take to advance open government through legislation, oversight, opening up parliamentary institutions and processes, and fostering dialogue. Legislative action Adopt, or review and amend legislation to strengthen the legal frameworks…

Show More
Open Government Partnership