Ignorer la navigation
Géorgie

Participation des personnes handicapées (GE0083)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action pour la Géorgie 2018-2019

Cycle du plan d'action : 2018

Statut : Actif

Institutions

Institution principale : Hôtel de ville de la municipalité d'Akhaltsikhe Hôtel de ville de la municipalité de Kutaisi

Institution(s) de soutien : Initiative de bonne gouvernance financée par l'USAID en Géorgie (GGI);

Domaines politiques

Infrastructure et transport, Engagements locaux, Communautés marginalisées, Prestation de services publics

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport sur les résultats de la transition de la Géorgie 2018-2019, Rapport de conception de la Géorgie 2018-2019

En vedette : en attente d'examen IRM

Premiers résultats : aucune donnée IRM

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

Pertinent pour les valeurs OGP : non pertinent

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Engagement 3: Améliorer l'engagement et la participation à grande échelle des personnes handicapées à la vie politique et sociale des municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi

La protection des droits des personnes handicapées est la tâche prioritaire du GdG. Fréquemment, l'engagement et la participation de plein droit des personnes handicapées dans la vie politique et sociale sont gênées par le manque d'infrastructures nécessaires, qui les empêchent d'assister aux sessions et aux réunions tenues dans les bâtiments administratifs. Ce défi est particulièrement ressenti au niveau local. Les municipalités d’Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi attachent une grande importance à la participation adéquate et inclusive de la population au processus de prise de décision ou de réception des services. Les municipalités mentionnées ici assurent l'adaptation de leurs bâtiments administratifs aux besoins des personnes handicapées.

Engagement 3: Améliorer l'engagement et la participation à grande échelle des personnes handicapées dans la vie politique et sociale des municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi
Mairie de la municipalité d'Akhaltsikhe
Mairie de la municipalité de Koutaïssi
Autres acteurs impliqués Agence publique
Société civile / secteur privé Initiative de bonne gouvernance financée par l'USAID en Géorgie (GGI);
Questions à traiter L'engagement sans réserve des personnes handicapées dans la vie politique et sociale est gêné par l'absence d'infrastructures nécessaires dans les municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi.
Objectif principal: Assurer la pleine participation des personnes handicapées à la vie politique et sociale des municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi.
OGP Challenge
Amélioration des services publics; créer des communautés plus sûres
Principes OGP Transparence Responsabilisation Participation civile Technologie et innovation
 
Jalons pour respecter l'engagement Engagement nouveau ou en cours Date de début: Date de fin:
Analyse des installations administratives de la municipalité en ce qui concerne les exigences de la législation géorgienne Nouveau trimestre 2018 décembre 2018
Identification des besoins et développement des termes de référence nécessaires à l'adaptation du bâtiment Nouveau Premier trimestre 2019 Mars 2019
Adaptation de l'immeuble aux besoins du PWDS Nouveau Deuxième trimestre 2019 Décembre 2020
Indicateur Le bâtiment administratif de la municipalité a été adapté et les personnes handicapées ont la possibilité de participer de manière adéquate à la vie politique et sociale de la municipalité.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

Engagement 18: Améliorer l'engagement et la participation à grande échelle des personnes handicapées dans la vie politique et sociale des municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action:

«La protection des droits des personnes handicapées (PWDS) est la tâche prioritaire du GoG. Souvent, l'engagement et la participation de pleine valeur des PWDS à la vie politique et sociale sont perturbés par l'absence d'infrastructure nécessaire, à cause de laquelle ils ne participent pas aux sessions et aux réunions tenues dans les bâtiments administratifs. Ce défi est particulièrement ressenti au niveau local. Les municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi attachent une grande importance à l'engagement adéquat et inclusif de la population dans le processus de prise de décision ou de réception des services. Les communes citées ici assurent l'adaptation de leurs bâtiments administratifs aux besoins des PWDS. "

Jalons: 

  1. Analyse des installations du bâtiment de l'administration municipale au regard des exigences de la législation géorgienne
  2. Identification des besoins et développement des TDR (cahier des charges) nécessaires à l'adaptation du bâtiment
  3. Adaptation du bâtiment aux besoins du PWDS

Date de début: Septembre 2018

Date de fin: Décembre 2019

Note éditoriale: Pour le texte intégral de cet engagement, veuillez consulter https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Contexte et objectifs

Dans le cadre de cet engagement, les municipalités d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi visent à rendre leurs bâtiments administratifs plus accessibles aux personnes handicapées (personnes handicapées). Le manque d'infrastructures adaptées aux besoins des personnes handicapées reste un défi majeur à travers la Géorgie et entrave leur intégration dans la société et leur capacité à recevoir des services municipaux. (100) Par exemple, comme l'a déclaré un représentant de l'Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international et de la bonne gouvernance (USAID GGI) interviewé, une personne en fauteuil roulant ne peut pas assister à la réunion du conseil parce qu'elle n'est souvent pas en mesure d'entrer physiquement dans la salle plénière. (101) Selon la loi géorgienne, (102) le développement d'une infrastructure appropriée pour les personnes handicapées dans les installations locales relève de la responsabilité de l'autonomie gouvernementale. Par conséquent, avec cet engagement, les municipalités de Kutaisi et Akhaltsikhe, avec le soutien de GGI, prévoient d'effectuer des analyses infrastructurelles de leurs bâtiments administratifs, d'identifier les besoins, d'élaborer des termes de référence (ToR) et, à terme, d'adapter les bâtiments aux besoins des personnes handicapées.

Cet engagement pourrait offrir de meilleures opportunités aux personnes handicapées de pénétrer indépendamment dans les bâtiments municipaux, de recevoir des services et de participer au gouvernement local. Cependant, étant donné que l'adaptation des infrastructures aux bâtiments n'assure pas en soi une augmentation de la participation, cet engagement n'est pas directement lié aux valeurs de l'OGP et, en particulier, à la valeur de la participation civique.

Dans l'ensemble, les activités prévues de cet engagement sont suffisamment spécifiques pour être vérifiées. Bien que cet engagement aborde un problème contemporain important dans les municipalités géorgiennes, à savoir l'accessibilité physique des bâtiments gouvernementaux (103)—Il ne fournit aucun mécanisme institutionnel pour encourager une plus grande participation des personnes handicapées. Par conséquent, l'engagement a une portée et une échelle limitées et pourrait donc avoir un impact potentiel mineur.

Prochaines étapes

Bien que cet engagement puisse potentiellement résoudre un problème important en Géorgie, le chercheur de l'IRM recommande de le poursuivre en dehors du cadre des futurs plans d'action du PGO, en raison du manque de pertinence directe pour un gouvernement ouvert. S'il est poursuivi, l'engagement pourrait être élargi pour inclure un soutien supplémentaire aux personnes handicapées pour leur participation aux réunions du conseil, aux consultations publiques et à d'autres assemblées. Ces soutiens pourraient comprendre l'interprétation en langue des signes et d'autres aides pour améliorer la compréhension et la capacité de participer activement.

(100) IDFI, Analyse statistique du PWDS en Géorgie, 2018, https://bit.ly/2FJX74i.

(101) Mariam Gorgadze, chef de parti adjoint et Mikheil Darchiashvili, directeur de la gouvernance à l'USAID Good Governance Initiative, à l'USAID Good Governance Initiative, entretien avec IRM research, 14 mai 2019.

(102) Loi organique de Géorgie, «The Local Self-government Code of Georgia», article 16, https://bit.ly/32vsx66.

(103) Entretien avec Darchiashvili et Gorgadze, mai 2019.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

18. Participation des personnes handicapées (PH) à la vie politique et sociale des communes d'Akhaltsikhe et de Kutaisi

limité

Avec le soutien de l'USAID GGI, les deux municipalités ont effectué des analyses d'infrastructure de leurs bâtiments administratifs, mais seul Akhaltsikhe a élaboré des termes de référence (TdR). Kutaisi n'a pas pris d'autres mesures, car son administration a décidé de déménager dans un tout nouveau bâtiment avec une infrastructure déjà adaptée aux personnes handicapées. À Akhaltsikhe, l'USAID GGI a engagé un expert externe qui a fourni les termes de référence et le budget, mais Akhaltsikhe n'a pas commencé à mettre en œuvre ses termes de référence. (73)

Le budget municipal 2021 de la mairie de Kutaisi comprend un programme qui prévoit une infrastructure appropriée des bâtiments administratifs municipaux pour les personnes handicapées. De plus, des rampes seront aménagées à Kutaisi et adaptées aux personnes handicapées. (74)

(73) Entretien de Gorgadze et Darchiashvili, novembre 2020.
(74) Informations fournies à l'IRM par la mairie de Kutaisi lors de l'examen préalable à la publication de ce rapport, le 28 avril 2021.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Georgia

Participation for Disabled Individuals (GE0083)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Georgia Action Plan 2018-2019

Action Plan Cycle: 2018

Status: Active

Institutions

Lead Institution: Akhaltsikhe Municipality Town Hall Kutaisi Municipality City Hall

Support Institution(s): USAID-funded Good Governance Initiative in Georgia (GGI);

Policy Areas

Infrastructure & Transport, Local Commitments, Marginalized Communities, Public Service Delivery

IRM Review

IRM Report: Georgia Transitional Results Report 2018-2019, Georgia Design Report 2018-2019

Starred: Pending IRM Review

Early Results: No IRM Data

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Not Relevant

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Commitment 3: Improving the full-scale engagement and participation of people with disabilities in the political and social life of Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities

The protection of rights of people with disabilities (PWDS) is the priority task of the GoG. Frequently, the full-value engagement and participation of the PWDS in the political and social life is interfered with the absence of necessary infrastructure, because of which they fail to attend sessions and meetings held in administration buildings. Said challenge is particularly felt at a local level. The Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities attach great importance to the adequate and inclusive engagement of population in the decision-making or service receipt process. The municipalities mentioned here ensure adaptation of their administration buildings to the PWDS needs.

Commitment 3: Improving the full-scale engagement and participation PWDS in the political and social life of Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities
Lead Agency Akhaltsikhe Municipality Town Hall
Kutaisi Municipality City Hall
Other Involved Actors Public Agency
Civil Society/ Private Sector USAID-funded Good Governance Initiative in Georgia (GGI);
Issues to be Addressed The full-value engagement and participation of the PWDS in the political and social life is interfered with the absence of necessary infrastructure in the Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities.
Main Objective Ensuring full-value engagement and participation of the PWDS in the political and social life in the Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities.
OGP Challenge
Improvement of public services; creating safer communities
OGP Principles Transparency Accountability Civil Participation Technology and Innovation
  
Milestones to Fulfill the Commitment New or ongoing commitment Start date: End date:
Analysis of the municipality administration building facilities regarding the Georgian legislation requirements New Fourth quarter 2018 December 2018
Identification of needs and development of TOR (terms of reference) necessary for adapting the building New First quarter 2019 March 2019
Adaptation of the building to PWDS needs New Second quarter 2019 December 2020
Indicator The municipality administration building has been adapted and PWDS have a possibility of adequate engagement in the political and social life of the municipality.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

Commitment 18: Improving the Full-Scale Engagement and Participation of People with Disabilities in the Political and Social Life of Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi Municipalities

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan:

“The protection of rights of people with disabilities (PWDS) is the priority task of the GoG. Frequently, the full-value engagement and participation of the PWDS in the political and social life is interfered with the absence of necessary infrastructure, because of which they fail to attend sessions and meetings held in administration buildings. Said challenge is particularly felt at a local level. The Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities attach great importance to the adequate and inclusive engagement of population in the decision-making or service receipt process. The municipalities mentioned here ensure adaptation of their administration buildings to the PWDS needs."

Milestones: 

  1. Analysis of the municipality administration building facilities regarding the Georgian legislation requirements
  2. Identification of needs and development of TOR (terms of reference) necessary for adapting the building
  3. Adaptation of the building to PWDS needs

Start Date: September 2018

End Date: December 2019

Editorial note: For the full text of this commitment, please see https://www.opengovpartnership.org/documents/georgia-action-plan-2018-2019/.

Context and Objectives

Under this commitment, the municipalities of Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi aim to make their administration buildings more accessible to people with disabilities (PWDs). The lack of infrastructure adapted to the needs of PWDs remains a major challenge across Georgia and impedes their inclusion in society and their ability to receive municipal services. [100] For example, as stated by an interviewed United States Agency for International Development Good Governance Initiative (USAID GGI) representative, a person in a wheelchair cannot attend the council meeting because they are often not able to physically enter the plenary hall. [101] According to Georgian law, [102] the development of appropriate infrastructure for PWDs at local facilities falls under the self-government responsibilities. Consequently, with this commitment, Kutaisi and Akhaltsikhe municipalities, with the support of GGI, plan to perform infrastructural analyses of their administrative buildings, identify needs, develop terms of reference (ToRs), and ultimately adapt buildings to the needs of PWDs.

This commitment could provide better opportunities to PWDs to independently enter municipal buildings, receive services, and participate in local government. However, as the infrastructural adaptation of the buildings does not by itself ensure an increase in participation, this commitment is not directly relevant to OGP values and, specifically, the value of civic participation.

Overall, this commitment’s planned activities are specific enough to be verified. While this commitment addresses an important contemporary issue in Georgian municipalities—namely the physical accessibility of government buildings [103]—it does not provide any institutional mechanisms to encourage greater participation of PWDs. Therefore, the commitment is limited in scope and scale and thus could have a minor potential impact.

Next steps

While this commitment potentially addresses an important issue in Georgia, the IRM researcher recommends continuing it outside the framework of future OGP action plans, due to the lack of direct relevance to open government. If carried forward, the commitment could be expanded to include additional support to persons with disabilities for their participation in council meetings, public consultations, and other assemblies. These supports could include sign language interpretation and other aides to enhance understanding and capacity to actively participate.

[100] IDFI, Statistical Analysis of PWDS in Georgia, 2018, https://bit.ly/2FJX74i.

[101] Mariam Gorgadze, Deputy Chief of Party and Mikheil Darchiashvili, Governance Manager at USAID Good Governance Initiative, at USAID Good Governance Initiative, interview with IRM research, 14 May 2019.

[102] Organic Law of Georgia, “The Local Self-government Code of Georgia,” Article 16, https://bit.ly/32vsx66.

[103] Darchiashvili and Gorgadze interview, May 2019.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

18. Participation of persons with disabilities (PWDs) in the political and social life of Akhaltsikhe and Kutaisi municipalities

Limited

Supported by USAID GGI, both municipalities performed infrastructural analyses of their administrative buildings, but only Akhaltsikhe developed terms of reference (ToR). Kutaisi did not take further steps, as its administration decided to move to an entirely new building with infrastructure already adapted to PWDs. In Akhaltsikhe, USAID GGI contracted an external expert who delivered the ToRs and the budget, but Akhaltsikhe has not started to implement its ToR. [73]

Kutaisi City Hall’s 2021 municipal budget includes a program that provides for proper infrastructure of municipal administrative buildings for PWDs. Also, ramps will be arranged in Kutaisi, and adapted for PWDs. [74]

[73] Gorgadze and Darchiashvili interview, November 2020.
[74] Information provided to the IRM by Kutaisi City Hall during the pre-publication review of this report, 28 April 2021.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership