Ignorer la navigation

Rapport final de Sekondi-Takoradi 2017

L’Assemblée métropolitaine de Sekondi-Takoradi a fait preuve d’un ferme engagement de haut niveau envers le processus du PGO. L'élaboration concertée du plan d'action a débouché sur cinq engagements axés sur l'amélioration des services dans les domaines de la sécurité, de l'assainissement, de la collecte des recettes fiscales et de la transparence fiscale. À l'avenir, la STMA pourrait améliorer la mise en œuvre en garantissant des fonds suffisants pour le respect des engagements et leur maintien.

Participation à l'OGP

Date du plan d'action 01 / 2017-12 / 2017
Agence chef de file (bureau, département, etc.) Unité de planification du développement, Assemblée métropolitaine de Sekondi Takoradi

Tableau 1: En bref
Nombre d'engagements 5
Niveau d'achèvement
Avoir complété un 0
Substantiel 2
limité 3
Pas démarré 0
Nombre d'engagements avec…
Pertinence claire pour les valeurs OGP 5
Impact potentiel transformatif 0
Mise en œuvre substantielle ou complète 2
Tous les trois (✪) 0
At-il ouvert le gouvernement? Majeur 1
Exceptionnel 0

Priorités du plan d'action

  1. Amélioration de la sécurité nocturne au sein de STMA
  2. Amélioration de la fourniture de toilettes dans les maisons de la STMA
  3. Amélioration de la participation du secteur privé à la fixation des frais

Contexte Institutionnel

Cette section résume la section Contexte institutionnel et sous-national. Il met l'accent sur la description des institutions principales responsables du plan d'action, leurs pouvoirs de coordination et la manière dont la structure institutionnelle stimule ou affecte le processus des autres plans d'action.

Leadership de l'OGP à l'Assemblée métropolitaine de Sekondi-Takoradi

Dans le district de l'Assemblée métropolitaine de Sekondi-Takoradi (STMA), l'OGP avait un gouvernement clairement désigné à la tête du gouvernement, qui partageait les efforts de leadership dans la mise en œuvre de ses engagements. Le chef du gouvernement de la STMA dirige l'initiative OGP dans la ville. L’engagement du gouvernement à l’égard du processus OGP s’est manifesté lors du lancement officiel du plan d’action OGP lors d’une manifestation publique. La loi 2016 relative aux collectivités locales, la loi 936, sections 41 – 48, confère un mandat légal au processus OGP. La loi a été adoptée (à l'unanimité, avec une forte majorité, etc.) Après des élections réussies qui ont entraîné un changement d'administrations politiques, le dirigeant de l'OGP a été remplacé par un autre responsable politique lors de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action. Néanmoins, les institutions et les organisations de la société civile responsables des engagements pris dans le cadre du programme OGP sont demeurées inchangées.

Tableau 2. Résumé du leadership de l'OGP à l'Assemblée métropolitaine de Sekondi-Takoradi

1. Structure Oui Non
Existe-t-il un responsable clairement désigné par le gouvernement pour OGP?
Owned Unique
Existe-t-il un seul organisme chef de file ou un leadership partagé pour les efforts du PGO?
Oui Non
Le chef du gouvernement dirige-t-il l'initiative OGP?
2. Mandat Légal Oui Non
L'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard du PGO est-il établi dans le cadre d'un mandat officiellement publié?
L'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard du PGO est-il établi par un mandat juridiquement contraignant?
3. Continuité et instabilité Oui Non
Y a-t-il eu un changement dans la ou les organisation (s) dirigeant (s) ou impliquée (s) avec les initiatives OGP au cours du cycle de mise en œuvre du plan d'action? X
Y at-il eu un changement de dirigeant au cours du cycle du plan d’action du PGO?

Participation des institutions gouvernementales au PGO

Cette sous-section décrit quelles institutions gouvernementales ont été impliquées à différentes étapes du PGO.

En STMA, la participation à l’OGP était limitée à quelques institutions de l’État et à plusieurs organisations indépendantes de la société civile (OSC). Bien que divers départements soient liés à la mise en œuvre des engagements (sécurité, assainissement, transparence fiscale, participation du secteur privé et planification), le processus de co-création de l'OGP a été largement piloté par le conseil de coordination régional, la police du Ghana et le Ministère du gouvernement local. La responsabilité du processus OGP a été divisée comme suit:

Responsable de: Institution
Co-création Conseil de coordination régional ouest (CCRE)

Service de police du Ghana

Ministère du gouvernement local et du développement rural - Responsable de la responsabilité sociale

Engagement 1: Sécurité Service de police du Ghana

Département des travaux métropolitains

Département du développement communautaire

Engagement 2: Assainissement Département de santé environnementale

Commission nationale de l'éducation civile (NCCE)

Engagement 3: Transparence fiscale NCCE

Département d'information

Engagement 4: secteur privé Département du budget

Département d'information

NBSSI / BAC / MoTI

Engagement 5: Planification Département de la planification

La STMA a invité les responsables de divers départements, agences et organisations de la société civile à une réunion des parties prenantes afin de discuter du processus de co-création OGP. Sur la base des représentations disponibles lors de la réunion, un groupe de travail a été formé pour recommander des engagements sur lesquels l’Assemblée devrait se concentrer lors de l’élaboration du plan d’action.

La mise en œuvre des engagements du PGO n'a toutefois pas retenu l'attention au-delà des réunions de consultation de routine des parties prenantes. Même si les différents départements d’Etat étaient directement impliqués, ils n’avaient pas les ressources nécessaires pour exécuter le plan d’action.

Tableau 3. Participation des institutions gouvernementales au PGO

Comment les institutions ont-elles participé? Ministères, départements ou agences Législative (parlements ou conseils) Institutions judiciaires (y compris les agences quasi judiciaires) Autres (districts spéciaux, autorités, organismes parapublics, etc.)
Consulter: Ces institutions ont observé ou ont été invitées à observer le plan d'action, mais peuvent ne pas être responsables des engagements pris dans le plan d'action. 3 0 0 0
Proposer: Ces institutions ont proposé des engagements à inclure dans le plan d'action 3 0 0 0
Mettre en place: Ces institutions sont responsables de la mise en œuvre des engagements du plan d’action qu’elles aient ou non proposé les engagements. 10[I] 0 0 1[Ii]

Aperçu de l'engagement

Fonction publique - Sécurité

Dans Sekondi-Takoradi, la planification urbaine et la sécurité sont des défis critiques et la criminalité affecte les zones à faible revenu de manière unique. Une étude du Centre de recherches pour le développement international[Iii] ont révélé que dans quatre villes ghanéennes, dont Sekondi-Takoradi, les zones urbaines pauvres étaient confrontées à une vulnérabilité accrue à la criminalité, en particulier la nuit. Dans ces zones, la plomberie intérieure et les logements officiels sont limités et les citoyens doivent emprunter des routes non éclairées pour utiliser les installations sanitaires le soir.[Iv] Les citoyens sont souvent victimes de crimes opportunistes et la présence de la police est limitée. De nombreux citoyens perçoivent également la police comme corrompue et la confiance dans l'application de la loi est faible.[V]

Pour lutter contre l'insécurité et la criminalité, l'Assemblée métropolitaine Sekondi-Takoradi (STMA) a inclus l'engagement en matière de sécurité dans le but de responsabiliser et d'encourager les citoyens à participer aux groupes de surveillance communautaires chargés de surveiller et de rendre compte de la criminalité dans la ville.

La STMA a organisé une réunion des parties prenantes aux divisions de police de Takoradi et de Sekondi le 30 March 2017 et 19 April 2017, respectivement, afin de discuter de la formation de groupes de surveillance communautaires. Les réunions étaient représentées par divers intervenants des services de police, des OSC responsables (STMA-CSUF), du personnel de STMA, des chefs traditionnels, des membres de l'Assemblée, des chefs et des leaders d'opinion. La réunion a permis d'identifier les communautés à fort taux de criminalité et de charger les membres de l'Assemblée situés dans ces zones électorales d'identifier et de recruter des volontaires pour faire partie du comité de surveillance de quartier.

Les comités de surveillance de quartier n'ont pas pu être mis en place en raison du manque d'engagement des membres de l'Assemblée des communautés bénéficiaires et du manque d'incitations et de logistique pour les volontaires. De plus, certains volontaires ont refusé de continuer à rendre leurs services en raison du dépistage biométrique auquel ils ont été soumis.

Afin d'améliorer la sécurité dans la métropole, la STMA prévoit de lancer un exercice de sensibilisation dans les communautés exposées à la criminalité afin de sensibiliser le public aux avantages du bénévolat au sein des comités de surveillance de la communauté. La STMA prévoit notamment de s'associer aux chefs et aux leaders d'opinion des communautés impliquées dans la mise en œuvre de cet engagement.

Service public-assainissement

L'objectif de cet engagement était de créer un partenariat solide avec les propriétaires et les associations de résidents afin d'accroître l'offre de toilettes domestiques et de s'éloigner de l'importante offre actuelle de toilettes publiques dans la métropole. Ce dernier a été intégré afin de minimiser le problème de la défécation à l'air libre dans la métropole et de favoriser la santé et la sécurité des citoyens. Pour réaliser la fourniture de toilettes domestiques, la STMA devait examiner le registre existant des toilettes en collaboration avec les OSC et les propriétaires de la métropole et mettre à l'essai de nouveaux modèles de fourniture de toilettes dans des communautés sélectionnées.

Une réunion des parties prenantes pour les associations de propriétaires / résidents a été organisée à la salle de l'Assemblée le 15 June 2017 afin de sensibiliser à la nécessité d'utiliser des toilettes domestiques. Les principales parties prenantes présentes étaient les associations de propriétaires, les principales organisations de la société civile et le personnel de la STMA.

L'engagement en matière d'assainissement n'a pas pu être mis en œuvre en raison de ressources et de contraintes logistiques. Malgré cela, la STMA a fait des progrès auprès des propriétaires à Fijai et en Engyiresia en les aidant à acquérir leurs propres toilettes.

Transparence fiscale

L'objectif principal de cet engagement était de rationaliser la gestion et le partage des enregistrements financiers afin de répondre aux attentes des citoyens en matière de génération de revenus et d'utilisation des entrées de fonds externes. Cette activité visait à contribuer à renforcer la confiance des citoyens dans l'affectation et l'utilisation des ressources et à renforcer la transparence et la responsabilité financières.

Les principaux bénéficiaires étaient les chefs de département et la population en général de la STMA. À l'avenir, la STMA peut renforcer la transparence fiscale en renforçant les capacités des principales parties prenantes afin de leur permettre d'expliquer les registres financiers. En outre, des ressources adéquates seront nécessaires pour aider à la diffusion des données financières sur les tableaux d’affichage communautaires.

Participation publique - secteur privé

L’objectif de cet engagement était de faire participer de manière proactive les entreprises, y compris l’Association des industries du Ghana (AGI) et STCCI, à la détermination des redevances et à l’aide à générer davantage de revenus pour le développement local. Cela a conduit à une ouverture et à une participation privée dans la détermination et la fixation des honoraires. La STMA et le secteur privé ont tous deux bénéficié de cette activité. Ce processus pourrait être amélioré en formant les membres à la compréhension des variables critiques utilisées dans la fixation des frais.

Participation publique - Planification

Cet engagement visait à renforcer la participation des citoyens à la planification et à la mise en œuvre de projets publics. Cela a conduit à une participation accrue des citoyens et à leur implication dans la planification des projets de la STMA et des initiatives menées par la communauté. Par exemple, la communauté a lancé la construction du complexe CHPS à Diabenekrom. Les bénéficiaires de cet engagement sont les citoyens et la STMA. Les initiatives de renforcement des capacités des membres de l’assemblée, des comités d’unité, des organisations de la société civile et des autorités traditionnelles dans le processus de planification et de budgétisation de l’Assemblée peuvent contribuer à améliorer cet engagement à l’avenir.

[I] Conseil de coordination de la région occidentale (WRCC), ministère des Gouvernements locaux et du Développement rural - Chef du service de la redevabilité sociale, Département des travaux métropolitains, Département du développement communautaire, Département de la santé environnementale, Commission nationale de l'éducation civique (CNCE), Département du budget, Département de l'information, NBSSI / BAC / MoTI, Département de la planification

[Ii] Service de police du Ghana

[Iii] Organisme de développement international basé au Canada: https://www.idrc.ca/en

[Iv] Centre de recherches pour le développement international,
«Criminalité et« peine de pauvreté »dans les zones urbaines du Ghana.» 2016 https://www.idrc.ca/sites/default/files/sp/Documents%20EN/idrc-crime-and-the-poverty-penalty-in-urban-ghana-letter-online-and-office-printing.pdf.

[V] Transparence Internationale, Aperçu de la corruption et de la lutte contre la corruption au Ghana, 2010. https://www.transparency.org/files/content/corruptionqas/271_Corruption_and_anti_corruption_in_Ghana.pdf.

Télécharger

Pas encore de commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation

Sekondi-Takoradi Final Report 2017

 Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly showed strong high-level commitment to the OGP process. The collaborative development of the action plan resulted in five commitments focused on improving services in the areas of security, sanitation, tax revenue collection and fiscal transparency. In the future, the STMA could improve implementation by securing sufficient funds for the fulfillment of commitments and their continuation.

Participation in OGP

Action Plan Date 01/2017–12/2017
Lead Agency (Office, Department, etc.) Development Planning Unit, Sekondi Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly

 

Table 1: At a Glance
Number of Commitments 5
Level of Completion
Completed 0
Substantial 2
Limited 3
Not Started 0
Number of Commitments with…
Clear Relevance to OGP Values 5
Transformative Potential Impact 0
Substantial or Complete Implementation 2
All Three (✪) 0
Did It Open Government? Major 1
Outstanding 0

Action Plan Priorities

  1. Improvement in nighttime security within STMA
  2. Improvement in the provision of toilet facilities in homes within STMA
  3. Improvement in private sector participation in fixing fees

Institutional Context

This section summarizes the Institutional and Subnational Context section. It emphasizes the description of the lead institutions responsible for the action plan, their powers of coordination and how the institutional set-up boosts or affects the OGP process.

OGP leadership in Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly

In the district of Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly (STMA), OGP had a clearly designated government lead with shared leadership efforts in the implementation of OGP commitments. STMA’s head of government leads the OGP initiative in the city. The government’s commitment to the OGP process was demonstrated at an official launch of the OGP action plan at a public event. The Local Government Act 2016, Act 936, sections 41–48, provides a legal mandate to the OGP process. The act was passed (unanimously, with a strong majority, etc.) After a successful election that led to a change in political administrations, the executive leader on the OGP was replaced by another political appointee during the implementation of the action plan. Notwithstanding, the institutions and CSO organizations leading the OGP commitments remained unchanged.

 

Table 2. Summary of OGP leadership in Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly

1. Structure Yes No
Is there a clearly designated government lead for OGP?  
Shared Single
Is there a single lead agency or shared leadership on OGP efforts?  
Yes No
Is the head of government leading the OGP initiative?  
2. Legal Mandate Yes No
Is the government’s commitment to OGP established through an official publicly released mandate?  
Is the government’s commitment to OGP established through a legally binding mandate?  
3. Continuity and Instability Yes No
Was there a change in the organization(s) leading or involved with the OGP initiatives during the action plan implementation cycle? X
Was there a change in the executive leader during the duration of the OGP action plan cycle?

Participation in OGP by Government Institutions

This sub-section describes which government institutions were involved at various stages in OGP.

In STMA, participation in OGP was limited to a few state institutions and several independent civil society organizations (CSOs). Although various departments are linked to the implementation of the commitments (i.e., security, sanitation, fiscal transparency, private sector participation, and planning), the OGP co-creation process was largely driven by the regional coordinating council, Ghana Police Service, and the Ministry of Local Government. Responsibility for the OGP process was divided as follows:

Responsible for: Institution
Co-creation Western Regional Coordinating Council (WRCC)

Ghana Police Service

Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development – Head of Social Accountability

Commitment 1: Security Ghana Police Service

Metropolitan Works Department

Department of Community Development

Commitment 2: Sanitation Environmental Health Department

National Commission Civil Education (NCCE)

Commitment 3: Fiscal Transparency NCCE

Information Department

Commitment 4: Private Sector Budget Department

Information Department

NBSSI/BAC/MoTI

Commitment 5: Planning Planning Department

 

STMA invited heads of various departments, agencies, and CSOs to a stakeholder meeting to discuss the OGP co-creation process. Based on the representations available at the meeting, a working group was formed to recommend commitments that the Assembly was to focus on when developing the action plan.

The implementation of OGP Commitments, however, did not receive enough attention beyond routine stakeholder consultation meetings. Even though the various state departments were directly involved, they lacked the requisite resources to execute the action plan. 

Table 3. Participation in OGP by Government Institutions

How did institutions participate? Ministries, Departments or agencies Legislative (parliaments or councils) Justice institutions (including quasi-judicial agencies) Other (special districts, authorities, parastatal bodies, etc.)
Consult: These institutions observed or were invited to observe the action plan, but may not be responsible for commitments in the action plan 3 0 0 0
Propose: These institutions proposed commitments for inclusion in the action plan 3 0 0 0
Implement:  These institutions are responsible for implementing commitments in the action plan whether or not they proposed the commitments 10[i] 0 0 1[ii]

Commitment Overview

Public Service – Security

In Sekondi-Takoradi, urban planning and security are critical challenges, and crime affects low-income areas in unique ways. A study the International Development Research Centre[iii] carried out found that in four Ghanaian cities, including Sekondi-Takoradi, poor urban areas faced increased vulnerability to crime, especially at night. In these areas, indoor plumbing and formal housing is limited, and citizens must walk along unlit roads to use toilet facilities at night.[iv] Citizens often become the victims of opportunistic crime, and police presence is limited. Many citizens also perceive the police as corrupt, and trust in law enforcement is low.[v]

To curb insecurity and crime, the Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolitan Assembly (STMA) included the commitment on security with the aim of empowering and encouraging citizens to be involved in community watch groups that monitor and report on crime in the city.

STMA organized a stakeholders’ meeting at the Takoradi and Sekondi Police District Divisions on 30 March 2017 and 19 April 2017, respectively, to discuss the formation of community watch groups. The meetings were represented by various stakeholders from Police Service, lead CSOs (STMA-CSUF), STMA-Staff, traditional leaders, Assembly Members, chiefs, and opinion leaders. The meeting identified communities with high crime rates and tasked the Assembly Members in those electoral areas to identify and recruit volunteers to serve on the neighborhood watch committee.

The neighborhood watch committees could not be implemented due to the lack of commitment from Assembly Members of beneficiary communities and the lack of incentives and logistics for the volunteers. Moreover, some volunteers declined to continue rendering their services due to the biometric screening they were subjected to.

As part of a way of improving security in the metropolis, STMA plans to embark on a sensitization exercise in crime-prone communities to create awareness of the benefits of volunteering on the community watch committees. In particular, STMA plans to partner with the chiefs and opinion leaders of the communities involved in implementing this commitment.

Public Service-Sanitation

The objective of this commitment was to build a strong partnership with landlords and resident associations to increase the provision of household toilets and move away from the currently important provision of public toilets in the metropolis. The latter had been incorporated as a way to minimize the issue of open defecation in the metropolis and to benefit the health and safety of the citizenry. To achieve the household toilet provision, STMA was to review the existing register of toilets in collaboration with CSOs and landlords in the metropolis and to pilot new models of toilet provision in selected communities.

A stakeholder meeting for landlords/resident associations was organized at the Assembly Chamber on 15 June 2017 to create awareness of the need for household toilets. The principle stakeholders present were landlord associations, lead CSOs, and STMA staff.

The commitment on sanitation could not be implemented because of resources and logistical constraints. Notwithstanding this, STMA made some headway with landlords in Fijai and Engyiresia by helping them acquire their own household toilets.

Fiscal Transparency

The primary goal of this commitment was to streamline financial record management and sharing to meet citizens’ expectations on how revenues are generated and how external inflows are spent. This activity aimed to contribute to building citizens’ trust and confidence in resource allocation and utilization and to strengthen fiscal transparency and accountability.

The main beneficiaries were heads of departments and the general citizenry in STMA. In the future, STMA can enhance fiscal transparency by building the capacity of key stakeholders to enable them to explain financial records. In addition, adequate resources will be needed to help disseminate financial records on community notice boards.

Public Participation-Private Sector

The objective of this commitment was to proactively engage businesses, including the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI) and STCCI, to determine fees and help generate more revenue for local development. This led to openness and private participation in the determination and fixing of fees. Both STMA and the private sector benefited from this activity. This process could be improved by training members in understanding the critical variables used in fixing fees.  

Public Participation – Planning

The goal of this commitment was to deepen citizens’ participation in the planning and implementation of public projects. This has led to increased citizenry input and involvement in planning STMA’s projects and community-led initiatives. For example, the community initiated the construction of the CHPS compound in Diabenekrom. The beneficiaries of this commitment are the citizens and STMA. The capacity-building initiatives for assembly members, unit committees, CSOs, and traditional authorities in the planning and budgeting process of the Assembly can help improve on this commitment in the future.

[i] Western Regional Coordinating Council (WRCC), Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development – Head of Social Accountability, Metropolitan Works Department, Department of Community Development, Environmental Health Department, National Commission Civil Education (NCCE), Budget Department, Information Department, NBSSI/BAC/MoTI, Planning Department

[ii] Ghana Police Service

[iii] International development organization based in Canada: https://www.idrc.ca/en

[iv] International Development Research Centre,
“Crime and the ‘poverty penalty’ in urban Ghana.” 2016 https://www.idrc.ca/sites/default/files/sp/Documents%20EN/idrc-crime-and-the-poverty-penalty-in-urban-ghana-letter-online-and-office-printing.pdf.

[v] Transparency International, Overview of Corruption and Anti-Corruption in Ghana, 2010. https://www.transparency.org/files/content/corruptionqas/271_Corruption_and_anti_corruption_in_Ghana.pdf.

Downloads

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!