Ignorer la navigation
Estonie

Une législation plus ouverte et transparente (EE0043)

Vue d'ensemble

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Troisième plan d'action PGO de l'Estonie 2016-2018

Cycle du plan d'action: 2016

Statut: inactif

Institutions

Établissement responsable: Riigikogu

Institution (s) de soutien: Transparency International Estonia, Open Government Partnership Table ronde, parties liées à la représentation des intérêts

Domaines politiques

Anti-Corruption, Institutions anti-corruption, Audits et Contrôles, Capacité? bâtiment, Les conflits d'intérêts, Législation et réglementation, Législatives, Parlements ouverts

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de fin d’exercice estonien 2016-2018, Rapport à mi-parcours de l'Estonie 2016-2018

Étoilé: non

Premiers résultats: n'a pas changé

Design i

Vérifiable: non

Pertinent par rapport aux valeurs OGP: non pertinent

Impact potentiel:

Exécution i

Achèvement:

Description

Description de la situation actuelle ou du problème résolu par l'engagement Le lobbying fait normalement partie des processus décisionnels démocratiques, mais un lobbying dissimulé réduit la démocratie. Bien que le lobbying ne soit pas réglementé par la législation estonienne, les études réalisées font clairement apparaître la nécessité de règles. Le public ainsi que les décideurs devraient avoir une meilleure idée de qui a soumis les propositions de modification ou qui se cache derrière une opinion d'expert. Des règles de lobbying claires, c'est-à-dire représentant les groupes d'intérêts, doivent être définies. Des amendements à la loi sur le règlement et le règlement intérieur du Riigikogu (13.04.2016, RT I, 03.05.2016, 2) ont été adoptés, ce qui permet de rendre les procès-verbaux des séances des commissions nettement plus substantiels et plus accessibles. En outre, les groupes d’intérêts concernés par la question qui ont participé à l’élaboration du projet et souhaitent participer à la discussion sont invités à participer à la discussion. Il est important de vérifier que ces modifications sont prises en compte. Objectif principal Compléter et mettre en œuvre un processus législatif ouvert et centré sur le citoyen Description succincte de l’engagement (max. 140 caractères) Développer des règles de lobbying et des principes de représentation des intérêts des membres du Riigikogu afin de renforcer la transparence du processus législatif le mécanisme d'autorégulation respectif en tant que code de bonne pratique. Mettre en œuvre une législation ouverte et renforcer les pratiques d'engagement. Contrôle des procès-verbaux des séances des commissions (§ 39) et de la partie de la participation des groupes d’intérêts (§ 36) consacrée au respect de la loi sur le règlement et le règlement intérieur du Riigikogu.

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Engagement 5: Élaboration de lois plus ouverte et transparente

Texte d'engagement:

Élaboration de règles de lobbying et de principes de représentation des intérêts des membres du Riigikogu afin d'accroître l'ouverture du processus législatif, création du mécanisme d'autorégulation correspondant en tant que code de bonne pratique. Mettre en œuvre une législation ouverte et renforcer les pratiques d'engagement.

Suivi des procès-verbaux des séances des commissions (§39) et de la partie de la participation des groupes d’intérêts (§36) consacrée au respect de la loi sur le règlement et le règlement intérieur du Riigikogu.

Jalons:

5.1. Compléter le manuel du membre du Riigikogu «Bonnes pratiques du membre du Riigikogu»

5.2. Développer les règles du lobbying / bonne pratique de représentation des intérêts d'un membre du Riigikogu (engager des groupes d'intérêts) et ajouter des règles au manuel du membre du Riigikogu

5.3. Mise en œuvre de la pratique de la mission et ouverture du processus législatif conformément au nouveau libellé de la loi sur le règlement du Riigikogu.

Institution responsable: Riigikogu

Institutions de soutien: Transparency International Estonie, Open Government Partnership Table ronde, parties liées à la représentation des intérêts

Date d'entrée en vigeur: 1 Juillet 2016           

 Date de fin: 30 juin 2018

But de l'engagement

Cet engagement visait à accroître la transparence du processus législatif du Parlement estonien (le Riigikogu) en mettant à jour le manuel des membres du Riigikogu avec un code de bonne pratique pour engager les groupes de pression. Il a également appelé à modifier la loi sur le règlement de procédure et le règlement intérieur du Riigikogu sur la base de ces mises à jour.

Statut

À mi-parcours: Substantiel

Pour concrétiser cet engagement, la commission restreinte anti-corruption du Riigikogu a présenté sa proposition de modification de la bonne pratique des membres du Riigikogu au Conseil des anciens du Parlement (présidents des factions parlementaires) en mai 2017. Cependant, le Parlement a rejeté la proposition de modification de la bonne pratique. Au lieu de cela, sur 29 May 2017, le Riigikogu a approuvé un autre type de document, les «Recommandations du Comité restreint de lutte contre la corruption aux membres du Riigikogu pour une interaction avec les représentants d'intérêts». Ce document comprenait huit recommandations générales.[Remarque 37: Le document comprenait les recommandations suivantes: 1) lorsqu’il rencontrait des représentants d’intérêts, vérifiait quels intérêts ils représentaient et qui les finançait; 2) Demander aux représentants de l’intérêt de divulguer, par écrit et à l’avance, l’objet de la réunion, les noms des participants, le sujet de la discussion et tout renseignement de base pertinent; 3) Avant la discussion d'un projet de loi ou d'un sujet particulier lors de la séance du comité, informez les membres du comité que vous avez été contacté par un représentant de l'intérêt et demandez qu'il soit consigné dans le procès-verbal de la séance du comité; 4) Évaluez les risques de conflits entre vos intérêts privés et les intérêts du public et voyez comment votre interaction pourrait être perçue. 5) Err du côté de la prudence. En cas de doute, consultez quelqu'un et, si vous décidez d'aller de l'avant, ajoutez une note explicative aux documents. 6) Invitez les représentants intéressés à justifier par écrit les déclarations ou présentations après des réunions ou des appels téléphoniques; 7) Conservez de bonnes habitudes en matière de tenue des dossiers, notamment en enregistrant la date et le lieu de la réunion, les noms des participants et les problèmes discutés; et 8) Signalez les pratiques de lobbying inacceptables au Comité restreint de lutte contre la corruption. Voir les recommandations complètes à https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Recommendations-of-the-Anti-Corruption-Select-Committee-to-the-members-of-the-Riigikogu-for-interaction-with-interest-representatives.pdf  ] et des exemples de cas aidant les membres du Riigikogu (députés) à évaluer les conflits d’intérêts potentiels et les questions éthiques lors de l’élaboration de la législation et de la coordination avec les groupes d’intérêts.

Fin du mandat: Substantiel

Depuis 29 May 2017, le Riigikogu n’a mené aucune activité spécifique liée à cet engagement. Bien que les deux premiers jalons aient été mis en œuvre dans un format différent de celui initialement prévu, ils avaient tous deux été achevés à mi-parcours dans la mesure du possible compte tenu des circonstances. Cependant, l'achèvement de l'étape 5.3 (mise en œuvre des lignes directrices et de la recommandation adoptées) est difficile à évaluer en raison du manque d'informations vérifiables permettant de savoir si ou comment les parlementaires mettent effectivement en œuvre les recommandations dans leurs pratiques quotidiennes. Le rapport d'auto-évaluation de fin de mandat du gouvernement estime que l'engagement est «substantiellement», mais pas complètement achevé.

Selon Tiina Runthal, de la chancellerie du Riigikogu,[Note 38: Tiina Runthal (Chancellerie du Riigikogu), interview du chercheur IRM, 26 November 2018] Le Parlement a pris les mesures suivantes pour soutenir la mise en œuvre des recommandations:

·       Les recommandations[Remarque 39: voir https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Recommendations-of-the-Anti-Corruption-Select-Committee-to-the-members-of-the-Riigikogu-for-interaction-with-interest-representatives.pdf ] et des exemples[Remarque 40: voir https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Case-examples-of-possible-situations-where-there-is-a-conflict-of-interests.pdf ] ont été publiés sur le site Web du Riigikogu;[Remarque 41: voir https://www.riigikogu.ee/en/parliament-of-estonia/committees/anti-corruption-select-committee/ ]

·       Les recommandations sont incluses dans l'ensemble de règles et de codes de conduite qui sont toujours présentés aux nouveaux membres du Parlement au début de leurs travaux.

·       Si le conseil d’administration du Riigikogu reçoit des informations sur des cas de non-respect des recommandations, par exemple par le biais de déclarations d’intérêt économique des députés, d’informations émanant d’autres députés ou par le biais des médias, il portera la cause devant le Conseil de la République. Les aînés discutent de la nécessité de changer ou de mettre à jour les recommandations.

Selon Tiina Runthal, aucun cas de non-conformité n’a encore été signalé au conseil d’administration du Riigikogu.[Note 42: Tiina Runthal (Chancellerie du Riigikogu), interview du chercheur IRM, 26 November 2018] Il n'est pas clair si le manque de cas rapportés est le résultat de la conformité totale de MP avec les recommandations ou s'il est dû à une connaissance limitée des recommandations. Aucune information vérifiable sur la connaissance réelle des députés par rapport aux recommandations n'est disponible, le Parlement n'ayant mené aucune enquête pour en savoir plus sur le niveau de sensibilisation.

At-il ouvert le gouvernement?

Accès à l'information: n'a pas changé

Participation civique: n'a pas changé

Responsabilité publique: n'a pas changé

L'engagement visait à résoudre le problème du manque de transparence et de supervision publique des activités de lobbying dans le processus législatif adopté par des organisations telles que Transparency International Estonia dans des rapports. Selon le libellé initial de l'engagement, le Riigikogu s'est engagé à créer un mécanisme d'autorégulation qui fournirait aux décideurs et au grand public une meilleure information sur qui et comment ont façonné les projets de loi au Parlement. Bien que cet engagement soit un premier pas positif vers la réglementation de l'influence des groupes d'intérêts dans le processus de prise de décision, le rapport d'avancement de la GIR l'a estimé comme n'étant pas directement pertinent pour les valeurs fondamentales du PGO. Le rapport soulignait qu'un changement important dans les pratiques législatives et l'interaction des députés avec les groupes de lobbying nécessiterait l'inclusion de mécanismes d'application réels de la réglementation sur le lobbying.

Selon le rapport d'autoévaluation du gouvernement et les éléments de preuve fournis par le Riigikogu, aucun mécanisme d'exécution ou de recours de ce type n'a été créé au cours de la mise en œuvre du projet. Transparency International Estonie estime que cet engagement est un pas dans la bonne direction, mais un ensemble de règles de lobbying plus approfondi et juridiquement contraignant est nécessaire pour accroître la transparence réelle des interactions des députés avec les lobbyistes.[Remarque: 43: communication par e-mail du chercheur IRM avec Transparency International Estonie, 30 November 2018] Il recommande que le Riigikogu se conforme aux "Normes internationales pour la réglementation du lobbying"[Remarque 44: «Normes internationales de réglementation du lobbying» (2015), Transparency International, Access Info Europe, Sunlight Foundation et Open Knowledge. Accessible à http://lobbyingtransparency.net/lobbyingtransparency.pdf. ] lors de la conception de nouveaux mécanismes de réglementation du lobbying. Par conséquent, malgré les ambitions initiales, l'engagement n'a eu aucun effet sur l'ouverture du gouvernement. Les effets potentiels sont encore réduits par le format non contraignant des recommandations et par le manque d'efforts de promotion proactifs des directives parmi les membres du Riigikogu.

Reportés?

Cet engagement a été reporté dans le quatrième plan d'action de l'Estonie. L’engagement 3 du plan d’action 2018 – 2020 («Accroître l’ouverture et la transparence du Riigikogu») continue de faire progresser l’objectif d’un processus législatif ouvert et transparent en se concentrant sur deux grands domaines d’activités: 1) en diffusant des données sur Réunions plénières du Parlement sous forme de données ouvertes lisibles par machine et 2) harmonisant les pratiques de publication et accélérant le processus de publication des actes des réunions des commissions parlementaires sur le site Web du Riigikogu.


Engagements

  1. Élaboration de politiques transparente et inclusive

    EE0048, 2018, Gouvernement électronique

  2. Élaboration de politiques inclusives

    EE0049, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  3. Transparence du Riigikogu

    EE0050, 2018, Accès à l'information

  4. Plans d'action des gouvernements nationaux et locaux

    EE0051, 2018, Prestation de services publics

  5. Présentation des services publics locaux

    EE0052, 2018, Accès à l'information

  6. Renforcement des capacités de la démocratie participative

    EE0053, 2018, Renforcement des capacités

  7. e-Tax and Customs Board 2020

    EE0039, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  8. Réduire la bureaucratie et un État plus simple - le projet Zéro bureaucratie

    EE0040, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  9. Mise en œuvre des principes de la gouvernance ouverte au niveau local à la suite de la réforme administrative

    EE0041, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  10. Élaboration de politiques plus inclusives au niveau du gouvernement central

    EE0042, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  11. Une législation plus ouverte et transparente

    EE0043, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  12. Augmentation de la capacité d'engagement des autorités de l'État et de la capacité de participation des organisations non gouvernementales dans l'élaboration des politiques

    EE0044, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  13. Intensifier la budgétisation participative au niveau local

    EE0045, 2016, Gouvernement électronique

  14. Accroître la transparence du financement des organisations non gouvernementales

    EE0046, 2016, Anti-Corruption

  15. Définir la démocratie participative et développer les compétences numériques dans l'éducation scolaire

    EE0047, 2016, Renforcement des capacités

  16. Visualisation du processus d'élaboration des politiques

    EE0016, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  17. Mise à niveau des canaux de participation

    EE0017, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  18. Amélioration du site Web du gouvernement

    EE0018, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  19. Norme pour les demandes d'informations

    EE0019, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  20. Avis préalable sur les processus d'élaboration des politiques

    EE0020, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  21. Participation à la prise de décision à un stade précoce

    EE0021, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  22. Accès anticipé aux décisions de politique fiscale

    EE0022, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  23. Meilleur mécanisme de rétroaction

    EE0023, 2014, Règlement ouvert

  24. Sélection et financement des projets de participation

    EE0024, 2014, Espace civique

  25. Outil Web pour la soumission des mémoires collectifs

    EE0025, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  26. Directives pour la participation des fonctionnaires

    EE0026, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  27. Formation des organisations de la société civile (OSC)

    EE0027, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  28. Transactions du gouvernement central

    EE0028, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  29. Transactions des autorités locales avec des entités privées

    EE0029, 2014, Espace civique

  30. Dépenses publiques à but non lucratif

    EE0030, 2014, Espace civique

  31. Lignes directrices pour la budgétisation des citoyens

    EE0031, 2014, Renforcement des capacités

  32. Lignes directrices pour la refonte des services publics

    EE0032, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  33. Registre des services publics

    EE0033, 2014, Accès à l'information

  34. Services publics centrés sur l'utilisateur

    EE0034, 2014, Gouvernement électronique

  35. Accès aux services électroniques pour les non-résidents

    EE0035, 2014, Citoyenneté et Immigration

  36. Open Data Portal

    EE0036, 2014, Accès à l'information

  37. Données d'ouverture

    EE0037, 2014, Accès à l'information

  38. Soutenir l'utilisation de données ouvertes non gouvernementales

    EE0038, 2014, Accès à l'information

  39. Rédaction d'un livre vert sur l'organisation des services publics

    EE0001, 2012, Prestation de services publics

  40. Mise en œuvre du plan d'action Eesti.Ee

    EE0002, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  41. Rédaction d'un livre vert sur la mise à disposition de données publiques sous une forme lisible par machine

    EE0003, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  42. Création d'un référentiel de données publiques

    EE0004, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  43. Lancement de projets pilotes de services de données publiques basés sur la technologie Cloud

    EE0005, 2012, Gouvernement électronique

  44. Directives interactives et formation à la mise en œuvre des bonnes pratiques d'engagement du public

    EE0006, 2012,

  45. Lancement du système d'évaluation d'impact

    EE0007, 2012, Législation et réglementation

  46. Aperçu des processus de travail des ministères

    EE0008, 2012, Renforcement des capacités

  47. Intégration de l'évaluation d'impact dans le processus de participation du public

    EE0009, 2012, Législation et réglementation

  48. Création d'une base de données de déclarations d'intérêts économiques

    EE0010, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  49. Ajustement du système de financement des associations à but non lucratif et mise en place d'un système de divulgation

    EE0011, 2012, secteur privé

  50. Engagement étoilé Élaboration d'une proposition pour l'élaboration d'une stratégie anti-corruption

    EE0012, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  51. Projet de loi anti-corruption

    EE0013, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  52. Création du conseil d'éthique publique

    EE0014, 2012, Anti-Corruption

  53. Organisation de la formation en éthique pour les employés de diverses organisations du secteur public (y compris les fonctionnaires)

    EE0015, 2012, Renforcement des capacités

NE PAS suivre ce lien ou vous serez interdit sur le site!

Skip Navigation
Estonia

More open and transparent law-making (EE0043)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Estonia’s Third OGP Action Plan 2016-2018

Action Plan Cycle: 2016

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: Riigikogu

Support Institution(s): Transparency International Estonia, Open Government Partnership Roundtable, parties related to representing interests

Policy Areas

Anti-Corruption Institutions, Audits and Controls, Capacity Building, Conflicts of Interest, Legislation & Regulation, Legislature

IRM Review

IRM Report: Estonia End-of-Term Report 2016-2018

Starred: No

Early Results: Did Not Change Did Not Change

Design i

Verifiable: No

Relevant to OGP Values: Not Relevant

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Description of the current situation or problem resolved through the commitment Lobbying is a normal part of democratic decision-making processes, but concealed lobbying reduces democracy. Even though lobbying is not regulated by laws in Estonia, the studies carried out clearly refer to a need for rules. The public as well as decision-makers should have a clearer understanding of who submitted the amendment proposals or who is behind an expert opinion. Clear lobbying rules, i.e. representing interest groups must be set out. Amendments to the Riigikogu Rules of Procedure and Internal Rules Act (13.04.2016, RT I, 03.05.2016, 2) have been passed, with which the minutes of the sittings of committees are made significantly more substantial and open. In addition, interest groups in the matter concerned that were engaged in the preparation of the draft and that wish to participate in the draft discussion are invited to engage in the draft discussion. It is important to check that these amendments are taken into account. Main aim Supplementing and implementing the citizen-centred and open law-making process Short description of the commitment (max 140 characters) Developing lobbying rules and principles of representation of interests for members of the Riigikogu for increasing the openness of law-making, creation of the respective self-regulation mechanism as a code of good practice. Implementing open law-making and strengthening engagement practice. Monitoring the minutes of the committees’ sittings (§ 39) and the part of the participation of interest groups (§ 36) on compliance with the Riigikogu Rules of Procedure and Internal Rules Act.

IRM End of Term Status Summary

Commitment 5: More open and transparent law-making

Commitment Text:

Developing lobbying rules and principles of representation of interests for members of the Riigikogu for increasing the openness of law-making, creation of the respective self-regulation mechanism as a code of good practice. Implementing open law-making and strengthening engagement practice.

Monitoring the minutes of the committees’ sittings (§39) and the part of the participation of interest groups (§36) on compliance with the Riigikogu Rules of Procedure and Internal Rules Act.

Milestones:

5.1. Supplementing the handbook of the member of the Riigikogu “Good practice of the member of the Riigikogu”

5.2. Developing the lobbying rules / good practice of representation of interests of a member of the Riigikogu (engaging interest groups) and adding rules to the handbook of the member of the Riigikogu

5.3. Implementation of the engagement practice and open law-making process according to the new wording of the Riigikogu Rules of Procedure and Internal Rules Act.

Responsible Institution: Riigikogu

Supporting Institutions: Transparency International Estonia, Open Government Partnership Roundtable, parties related to representing interests

Start Date: 1 July 2016           

 End Date: 30 June 2018

Commitment Aim

This commitment sought to increase transparency in the lawmaking process of the Parliament of Estonia (the Riigikogu) by updating the handbook of Riigikogu members with a code of good practice for engaging lobby groups. It also called for amending the Riigikogu Rules of Procedure and Internal Rules Act based on these updates.

Status

Midterm: Substantial

To implement the commitment, the Anti-Corruption Select Committee of the Riigikogu handed its proposal for amending the Good Practice of the Members of the Riigikogu to the Parliament’s Council of Elders (chairpersons of the parliament’s factions) in May 2017. However, Parliament rejected the proposal to amend the Good Practice. Instead, on 29 May 2017, the Riigikogu approved another type of document, the “Recommendations of the Anti-Corruption Select Committee to the Members of the Riigikogu for Interaction with Interest Representatives.” This document included eight general recommendations[Note 37: The document included the following recommendations: 1) when meeting with interest representatives, check what interests they represent and who is funding them; 2) Request interest representatives to disclose, in writing and in advance, the purpose of the meeting, names of participants, the issue for discussion, and any relevant background information; 3) Before the discussion of a particular bill or a topic at the committee sitting, inform the members of the committee that you have been contacted by an interest representative and ask it to be entered in the minutes of the committee sitting; 4) Assess any risk of conflicts between your private interests and the public interest and how your interaction might be perceived; 5) Err on the side of caution. If in doubt, consult somebody, and if you decide to go ahead, add an explaining note to the documents; 6) Invite interested representatives to substantiate statements or presentations in writing after meetings or telephone calls; 7) Maintain good record-keeping habits, including recording the date and location of the meeting, names of participants and issues discussed; and 8) Report unacceptable lobbying practices to the Anti-Corruption Select Committee. See the full recommendations at https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Recommendations-of-the-Anti-Corruption-Select-Committee-to-the-members-of-the-Riigikogu-for-interaction-with-interest-representatives.pdf  ] and example cases helping members of the Riigikogu (MPs) assess potential conflict of interest and ethical issues in preparing legislation and coordinating with interest groups.

End of term: Substantial

Since 29 May 2017, the Riigikogu has not carried out any specific activities related to this commitment. Although the first two milestones were implemented in a different format than originally planned, both had been completed by the midterm to the extent possible under the circumstances. However, the completion of milestone 5.3 (implementation of the adopted guidelines and recommendation) is difficult to assess due to the lack of verifiable information as to whether or how MPs actually implement the recommendations in their daily practices. The government’s end of term self-assessment report evaluates the commitment as “substantially” but not fully completed.

According to Tiina Runthal from the Chancellery of the Riigikogu,[Note 38: Tiina Runthal (Chancellery of Riigikogu), interview by IRM researcher, 26 November 2018] Parliament took the following measures to support the recommendations’ implementation:

·       The recommendations[Note 39: See https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Recommendations-of-the-Anti-Corruption-Select-Committee-to-the-members-of-the-Riigikogu-for-interaction-with-interest-representatives.pdf ] and examples[Note 40: See https://www.riigikogu.ee/wpcms/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Case-examples-of-possible-situations-where-there-is-a-conflict-of-interests.pdf ] have been published on the Riigikogu website;[Note 41: See https://www.riigikogu.ee/en/parliament-of-estonia/committees/anti-corruption-select-committee/ ]

·       The recommendations are included in the package of rules and codes of conduct that are always introduced to new members of the Parliament as they start their work;

·       In case the Board of the Riigikogu receives information about cases of non-compliance with the recommendations, e.g., through MPs’ declarations of economic interest, information from other MPs, or via the media, the board will take the case to the Council of the Elders to discuss the need to change or to update the recommendations.

According to Tiina Runthal, no cases of noncompliance have been given to the Board of the Riigikogu so far.[Note 42: Tiina Runthal (Chancellery of Riigikogu), interview by IRM researcher, 26 November 2018] It is not clear whether the lack of reported cases is a result of MP’s full compliance with the recommendations or whether it is due to limited awareness of the recommendations. No verifiable information about the MPs’ actual awareness of the recommendations is available, as Parliament has not conducted surveys to learn about the awareness level.

Did It Open Government?

Access to information: Did not change

Civic participation: Did not change

Public accountability: Did not change

The commitment aimed to address the problem of lack of transparency and public oversight of lobbying activities in the law-making process that organizations such as Transparency International Estonia had previously raised in reports. According to the original wording of the commitment, the Riigikogu committed to creating a self-regulation mechanism that would provide decision-makers and the general public better information on who and how has shaped the legislative bills in the Parliament. Though this commitment is a positive first step toward regulating the influence of special interest groups in the decision-making process, the IRM Progress Report assessed it as not directly relevant to the core OGP values. The report noted that a significant change in lawmaking practices and MPs’ interaction with lobby groups would require including actual enforcement mechanisms of the lobbying regulations.

According to the government’s self-assessment report and evidence from Riigikogu, no such enforcement or redress mechanisms were created during the project’s implementation. Transparency International Estonia suggests that this commitment is a step in the right direction, but a more thorough and legally binding set of lobbying rules is needed to increase the actual transparency of MPs’ interactions with lobbyists.[Note 43: IRM researcher’s email communication with Transparency International Estonia, 30 November 2018] It recommend that Riigikogu follow “International Standards for Lobbying Regulation”[Note 44: “International Standards for Lobbying Regulation” (2015), Transparency International, Access Info Europe, Sunlight Foundation and Open Knowledge. Accessible at http://lobbyingtransparency.net/lobbyingtransparency.pdf. ] when designing further lobbying regulation mechanisms. Therefore, despite the initial ambitions, the commitment has had no effect on opening government. The potential effects are further reduced by the lightweight non-binding format of the recommendations and the lack of proactive promotion efforts of the guidelines among the Riigikogu members.

Carried Forward?

This commitment has been carried forward to Estonia’s fourth action plan. Commitment 3 of the 2018–2020 action plan (“Increasing the openness and transparency of the Riigikogu”) continues to advance the goal of an open and transparent law-making process by focusing on two main strands of activities: 1) releasing data about the Parliament’s plenary meetings as machine-readable open data and 2) harmonizing the publication practice and speeding up the process of publishing parliamentary committees’ meeting proceedings on Riigikogu’s website.


Estonia's Commitments

  1. transparent and inclusive policy making

    EE0048, 2018, E-Government

  2. inclusive policy-making

    EE0049, 2018, Capacity Building

  3. Riigikogu Transparency

    EE0050, 2018, E-Government

  4. national and local government action plans

    EE0051, 2018, Public Service Delivery

  5. presentation of local public services

    EE0052, 2018, E-Government

  6. participatiory democracy capacity-building

    EE0053, 2018, Capacity Building

  7. e-Tax and Customs Board 2020

    EE0039, 2016, E-Government

  8. Reducing bureaucracy and a simpler state – the zero bureaucracy project

    EE0040, 2016, Capacity Building

  9. Implementation of the principles of open governance at local level as a result of the administrative reform

    EE0041, 2016, Capacity Building

  10. More inclusive policy-making on a central government level

    EE0042, 2016, E-Government

  11. More open and transparent law-making

    EE0043, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  12. Increase of the engagement capacity of state authorities and participation capacity of nongovernmental organisations in policy-making

    EE0044, 2016, Capacity Building

  13. Intensify participatory budgeting on a local level

    EE0045, 2016, E-Government

  14. Increasing the transparency of the funding of non-governmental organisations

    EE0046, 2016, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  15. Defining participatory democracy and development of digital competence in school education

    EE0047, 2016, Capacity Building

  16. Visualisation of the policy making process

    EE0016, 2014, Public Participation

  17. Upgrading participation channels

    EE0017, 2014, E-Government

  18. Improving government website

    EE0018, 2014, E-Government

  19. Standard for information requests

    EE0019, 2014, E-Government

  20. Early notice on policy-making processes

    EE0020, 2014, Public Participation

  21. Participation in early stage policy-making

    EE0021, 2014, Public Participation

  22. Early access to tax policy decisions

    EE0022, 2014, Public Participation

  23. Better feedback mechanism

    EE0023, 2014, Public Participation

  24. Selecting and funding participation projects

    EE0024, 2014, Civic Space

  25. Web tool

    EE0025, 2014, E-Government

  26. Civil servant guidelines for participation

    EE0026, 2014, Capacity Building

  27. Training civil society organizations (CSOs)

    EE0027, 2014, Capacity Building

  28. Central government transactions

    EE0028, 2014, E-Government

  29. Local authorities' transactions with private entities

    EE0029, 2014, Civic Space

  30. Public spending for non-profits

    EE0030, 2014, Civic Space

  31. Guidelines for citizen budgeting

    EE0031, 2014, Capacity Building

  32. Guidelines for redesigning public services

    EE0032, 2014, E-Government

  33. Registry of public services

    EE0033, 2014, Open Data

  34. User-centric public services

    EE0034, 2014, E-Government

  35. Access to e-services for non-residents

    EE0035, 2014, Citizenship and Immigration

  36. Open data portal

    EE0036, 2014, E-Government

  37. Opening data

    EE0037, 2014, Capacity Building

  38. Supporting nongovernmental open data use

    EE0038, 2014, Capacity Building

  39. Drawing up a green paper on organisation of public services

    EE0001, 2012, Public Service Delivery

  40. Implementation of the eesti.ee action plan

    EE0002, 2012, E-Government

  41. Drawing up a green paper on making public data available in a machine-readable form

    EE0003, 2012, E-Government

  42. Creating a repository of public data

    EE0004, 2012, E-Government

  43. Launching pilot projects of public data services based on the cloud technology

    EE0005, 2012, E-Government

  44. Interactive guidelines and training in implementation of the Good Practice of Public Engagement

    EE0006, 2012, Open Contracting and Procurement

  45. Launch of the impact assessment system

    EE0007, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  46. Overview of ministries’ work processes

    EE0008, 2012, Capacity Building

  47. Integration of impact assessment into the process of public engagement

    EE0009, 2012, Legislation & Regulation

  48. Creation of a database of declarations of economic interests

    EE0010, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  49. Adjustment of the system of funding non-profit associations and establishment of a disclosure system

    EE0011, 2012, Private Sector

  50. Starred commitment Drawing up a proposal for drawing up an anti-corruption strategy

    EE0012, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  51. Draft Anti-Corruption Act

    EE0013, 2012, Anti-Corruption Institutions

  52. Establishment of the Public Ethics Council

    EE0014, 2012, Conflicts of Interest

  53. Organisation of ethics training for employees of various public sector organisations (incl. public servants)

    EE0015, 2012, Capacity Building