Ignorer la navigation
République slovaque

Créer des politiques publiques engageantes (SK0102)

Aperçu

D'un coup d'œil

Plan d'action: Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2017-2019

Cycle du plan d'action : 2017

Statut : Inactif

Institutions

Institution chef de file : les ministres, le chef du bureau du gouvernement, les chefs d'autres organes du gouvernement central, en coopération avec le plénipotentiaire du gouvernement pour le développement de la société civile

Institution(s) de soutien : NA

Domaines politiques

Capacité? bâtiment, E-gouvernement, Ouverture fiscale, Participation du public, Participation du public au budget / à la politique budgétaire, Gouvernance réglementaire

Revue IRM

Rapport IRM: Rapport de mise en œuvre de la Slovaquie 2017-2019, Rapport de conception de la République slovaque 2017 – 2019

Suivi : Non

Premiers résultats : marginaux

Design i

Vérifiable : Oui

En rapport avec les valeurs de l'OGP : participation civique

Impact potentiel:

Mise en œuvre i

Achèvement:

Détails

Engagement n ° 45: Créer des politiques publiques identifiées conformément au matériel recommandé "Lignes directrices pour impliquer le public dans l'élaboration des politiques publiques" en coopération avec les représentants de la société civile.

Résumé du statut à mi-parcours de l'IRM

THEME - Développer et évaluer les politiques de manière participative
Comm 43, 45, 47, 49, 63, 64

Langue de l'engagement telle qu'elle apparaît dans le plan d'action[Note: Le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2017 - 2019 », http://bit.ly/2QYIlHV ]:

Engagement 43: «Sur la base d'un large dialogue entre les autorités du gouvernement central et la société civile, identifiez les politiques publiques qui seront créées de manière participative avec des représentants de la société civile."

Engagement 45: "Créer des politiques publiques identifiées conformément au matériel recommandé" Lignes directrices pour engager le public dans l'élaboration des politiques publiques "en coopération avec des représentants de la société civile."

Engagement 47: «Évaluer les processus participatifs identifiés de création et de mise en œuvre de politiques publiques et diffuser des exemples de bonnes pratiques sur la base de cette évaluation.»

Engagement 49: "Proposer une recommandation de directives internes sur l'utilisation d'outils gratuits en ligne pour la création participative de politiques publiques."

Engagement 63: «Analyser et évaluer les informations et rapports préliminaires sur la participation du public au processus de rédaction et de commentaire de projets de loi.»

Engagement 64: "Analyser et évaluer l'efficacité de la pétition collective électronique."

Date de début: non spécifiée  

Date de fin: 30 June 2019

 

Contexte et objectifs

La Slovaquie accorde la priorité à la participation politique, aux droits d'association et d'organisation[Note: Freedom House, «La liberté dans le monde 2018: Slovaquie», http://bit.ly/2QeEKJM  ]. Les citoyens sont libres de s'organiser en partis et mouvements politiques. Cependant, bien que tous jouissent de tous les droits politiques, certains groupes défavorisés, par exemple une minorité rom, ne vivent pas dans des conditions propices à l'exercice de ces droits et en bénéficient pleinement. La liberté de réunion est garantie par la Constitution et les organisations de la société civile ne sont soumises à aucune restriction de leur fonctionnement. Néanmoins, l'ancien Premier ministre Robert Fico a exprimé une position hostile à leur égard à certaines occasions.[Note: ČTK, “Fico chce prinútiť mimovládky, aby zverejnili financie zo zahraničia” (Fico veut forcer les ONG à publier leurs finances depuis l'étranger), Sme.sk, http://bit.ly/2QEueLk (en slovaque). ]. Par conséquent, le soutien quotidien du plus haut niveau politique à un plus grand engagement de la société civile dans l’élaboration des politiques ne se fait pas sentir dans les activités quotidiennes du gouvernement.

Néanmoins, le gouvernement s'est officiellement engagé à faire avancer l'élaboration de politiques participatives dans ses nombreux documents officiels, y compris son plan d'action national. L’élaboration de politiques participatives fait partie de tous les plans d’action jusqu’à présent.[Note: Le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d’action national de la République slovaque », http://bit.ly/2DKiGPZ et le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2015 », http://bit.ly/2RevqCc. ]. Les engagements 43, 45 et 47 étaient déjà inclus dans le premier[Note: Le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d’action national de la République slovaque », http://bit.ly/2DKiGPZ ] et deuxieme[Note: Le Bureau du plénipotentiaire, “Open Government Partnership Plan d'action national de la République slovaque 2015 », http://bit.ly/2RevqCc] plan d'action.  

La participation civique est l’une des valeurs clés du PGO et la co-création doit être au cœur des processus du PGO.[Remarque : Open Government Partnership, «Normes de participation et de co-création OGP», http://bit.ly/2FFjwQl  ]. Par conséquent, tous les engagements de ce cluster, en particulier les engagements 43, 45 et 47, sont pertinents pour les valeurs OGP et suffisamment spécifiques pour être évalués. Si le processus d'élaboration des politiques de manière participative et une évaluation ultérieure du processus est exécuté de manière inclusive et professionnelle, cela pourrait avoir des retombées positives sur l'ensemble de l'administration publique. Par conséquent, l'impact potentiel de ces engagements pourrait être modéré.

Les personnes interrogées ont fait valoir que plusieurs conditions doivent être remplies pour y parvenir. Un représentant d'OSC possédant une connaissance approfondie de l'élaboration de politiques participatives a souligné que les processus doivent être transparents et que des informations doivent être fournies à toutes les étapes.[Note: Entretien avec Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 novembre 2018. Voir la section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. ]. Elle a ajouté que "les participants devraient savoir pourquoi la version finale d'un document de politique est rédigée telle quelle". Elle a fait valoir que s'il est impossible de refléter les préférences de tous les participants aux politiques, ils devraient être tenus informés de la manière dont leurs commentaires ont été intégrés. Une autre personne interrogée a fait valoir que la participation ne devrait pas être exclusive à certaines politiques, mais devait être intégrée à la culture institutionnelle plus généralement.[Note: Entretien avec Ján Gondoľ (expert en éducation et science ouverte), 5 novembre 2018, voir section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. ]. Il a attiré l'attention sur les engagements de l'OGP en matière de données ouvertes développés dans un esprit participatif. Cet exemple, ainsi que d'autres mentionnés par les personnes interrogées, suggère qu'il existe des différences significatives dans l'étendue et la qualité de leurs processus participatifs entre les agences.[Note: Entretien avec Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 novembre 2018. Entretien avec Marcel Zajac (Centre de philanthropie), 5 novembre 2018. Voir la section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. ]. Par conséquent, le maintien de ces engagements pourrait être particulièrement bénéfique pour les agences qui n’ont pas encore accepté de participer à leurs activités quotidiennes.

En ce qui concerne l’évaluation des processus participatifs, les préoccupations et les réserves relatives à l’auto-évaluation, qui ont été soulevées dans le précédent rapport sur la GIR[Note: Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership«Rapport spécial sur la redevabilité en Slovaquie 2014 - 2015», http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws], a toujours prévalu. Un représentant d'OSC interrogé pour le présent rapport a fait valoir que les critères d'évaluation de l'élaboration de politiques participatives sont contre-productifs, car ils font de l'évaluation un processus très formalisé.[Note: Entretien avec Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 novembre 2018. Voir la section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. ]. Un autre représentant d'OSC a partagé l'opinion selon laquelle les critères d'évaluation obligatoires ajoutent à un fardeau bureaucratique déjà existant auquel les fonctionnaires doivent faire face dans leur travail quotidien. Les fonctionnaires pourraient répondre à cette obligation en trouvant des stratégies pour la contourner[Note: Entretien avec Marcel Zajac (Centre de philanthropie), 5 novembre 2018. Voir la section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. ].

L’engagement 49 d’élaborer des directives internes en vue de l’utilisation d’outils en ligne gratuits dans l’élaboration de politiques participatives est de nature très technique et n’a pas une pertinence claire pour un gouvernement ouvert en tant que tel, et n’est donc codé pour aucun impact potentiel. Cependant, cela pourrait élargir l'éventail des moyens permettant au public de participer, ce qui pourrait correspondre à son utilisation quotidienne des technologies de l'information et de la communication. Néanmoins, bon nombre de ces services sont des services commerciaux et, par conséquent, le gouvernement ne sera pas en mesure de garantir le contrôle total et la responsabilité des données.   

L'analyse des informations préliminaires et des rapports sur la participation du public au processus de rédaction et de commentaire d'un projet de loi (engagement 63) est importante, car il est essentiel de savoir dans quelle mesure le public peut participer et participe aux processus législatifs. Sur la base des conclusions de cette analyse, des améliorations pourraient être proposées et mises en œuvre.

L’engagement 64 d’analyser l’efficacité des pétitions électroniques collectives est important étant donné qu’aucune pétition électronique n’a été créée depuis son lancement sur le portail national d’e-gouvernement, http://www.slovensko.sk, sur 31 Décembre 2015[Note: pétitions électroniques collectives à Slovensko.sk, https://open.slovensko.sk/hromadneziadosti (en slovaque). ]. Il est essentiel de comprendre pourquoi la plate-forme n'a pas eu de succès et ce qui peut être fait pour encourager son adoption. Le précédent rapport IRM[Note: Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership«Rapport spécial sur la redevabilité en Slovaquie 2014 - 2015»,  http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws] a conclu que la non-utilisation des pétitions électroniques suggère une absence de demande pour une telle plate-forme en raison de la saturation de la demande par des plates-formes préexistantes, d'un manque de sensibilisation ou d'une conception médiocre de la plate-forme. Les intervenants ont recommandé de réexaminer les seuils et de réduire considérablement le nombre de signatures nécessaires pour que le gouvernement examine une pétition électronique.[Remarque: pour le moment, le seuil est défini sur les signatures 15 000. ].

Prochaines étapes

  • Intégrer la participation à la culture institutionnelle dans différents secteurs

Les différences d’ampleur et de qualité des processus participatifs entre les agences publiques sont importantes. Si certaines agences ont plus d'expérience en matière de processus participatifs, d'autres pas. Les différences existent aussi au sein des agences publiques. Un représentant d'OSC a donné un exemple des bonnes et des mauvaises pratiques au sein d'une même agence[Note: Entretien avec Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 novembre 2018. Voir la section «VI. Méthodologie et sources pour plus de détails. À titre d'exemple de bonne pratique, elle a énoncé les priorités nationales pour l'Agenda 2030, qui résultent de larges processus participatifs. À titre d'exemple de mauvaise pratique, elle a évoqué le plan d'action pour la transformation de la région de Horná Nitra, principalement en raison de la nature fermée des processus et du manque d'informations de base. ]. Au cours de l’élaboration du plan d’action, les représentants des organisations de la société civile ont exprimé la crainte que la participation des organisations de la société civile aux processus d’élaboration des politiques soit souvent très formelle et que les représentants des organisations de la société civile se voient souvent présenter un élément fini et déjà décidé[Note: Le bureau de la plénipotentiaire, «Forum régional de recherche sur les médias numériques» (Rapport des ateliers régionaux sur le développement du plan d’action 2016-2019 de l’OGP) http://bit.ly/2zslNsy (rapport en slovaque).]. Ils se sont également plaints du fait que les groupes de travail ou les commissions sont surreprésentés par les fonctionnaires. Tous ces points, ajoutés, exigent que le gouvernement adopte une approche plus holistique de la participation. Cela ne devrait pas être exclusif à l'élaboration de politiques qui ont été sélectionnées dans le cadre des engagements du PGO, mais devrait inclure des réunions régulières en face à face avec les parties prenantes, y compris les OSC. Un engagement en faveur de l'engagement civique devrait être intégré à la culture institutionnelle et au fonctionnement quotidien des agences publiques et inclure les gouvernements locaux et nationaux. Traduit en points d'action, cela signifie que les agences publiques doivent informer de manière proactive, ouverte et transparente sur les activités prévues de leurs activités en utilisant divers canaux de communication afin de garantir que le message parvienne à tous les publics concernés. Ils devraient le faire dès les premières étapes, non pas lorsqu'un projet de loi ou de décision est déjà écrit, mais au stade préliminaire / livre vert, lorsqu'un problème ou une proposition est identifié, le contexte décrit et les scénarios de politique définis. Les parties prenantes devraient être impliquées à ce stade et à chaque étape suivante, y compris lorsqu'une évaluation d'impact réglementaire a été publiée (idéalement, une AIR serait produite à chaque étape).

  • Faciliter l'engagement des OSC

Déjà le précédent rapport IRM[Note: Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership«Rapport spécial sur la redevabilité en Slovaquie 2014 - 2015», http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws] a souligné que la mise à disposition de différentes ressources pour la participation des OSC est une condition préalable à la garantie de processus inclusifs. Un représentant des organisations de la société civile interrogé dans le cadre de ce rapport a indiqué que ses capacités étaient limitées. Cependant, cela dit, son organisation participe toujours aux discussions sur des thèmes cruciaux pour son travail, tels que la législation sur la liberté de l'information. Elle a ajouté que le gouvernement devrait explorer de manière proactive ce qui aiderait différentes OSC à s’engager.[Note: Entretien avec Veronika Prachárová (Institut slovaque de la gouvernance), 16 November 2018.]. Les propositions peuvent varier. Le gouvernement devrait créer une base de données des parties prenantes intéressées, telles que les OSC, qui souhaitent être informées du lancement de chaque processus susceptible de conduire à des décisions ou à des lois dans leur domaine d'intérêt ou leur domaine d'intérêt. Les informations devraient également être accessibles au public pour ceux qui préféreraient ne pas s'enregistrer. Une occasion de participer à des réunions et à des discussions via Skype pourrait attirer davantage d'OSC régionales ne disposant pas de ressources financières ni de temps suffisants pour se rendre en Slovaquie pendant une heure de réunion dans la capitale, etc. En outre, les ministères pourraient produire des livres verts, des notes explicatives ou réglementaires. les évaluations d’impact, qui fourniront des informations clés résumées, les représentants des organisations de la société civile disposant souvent de peu de temps pour lire des documents complets. Enfin, le gouvernement pourrait sensibiliser aux possibilités de financement offertes aux OSC.

  • Inclure un élément externe dans l'évaluation de l'élaboration de politiques participatives

Comme les parties prenantes l’ont souligné à maintes reprises, mais également dans le rapport IRM précédent, l’auto-évaluation des processus participatifs pourrait être insuffisante. Un représentant d'OSC a également affirmé que les critères d'évaluation des processus participatifs créent également une fausse impression selon laquelle «le gouvernement a participé de l'aube au crépuscule alors que ce n'est pas vrai». La configuration de l'évaluation pour inclure le ministère de la Justice et le bureau du vice-premier ministre est positive, de sorte que l'évaluation n'est pas effectuée par le ministère ou l'agence responsable du processus participatif. Pour renforcer encore l'indépendance et l'impartialité de l'évaluation, il est recommandé d'inclure un évaluateur ou un examinateur externe indépendant et d'inclure dans l'évaluation des informations en retour, par exemple sous forme d'enquête, des parties prenantes engagées dans le domaine concerné. leur évaluation du processus participatif. Un élément externe est nécessaire pour une évaluation objective.  

Résumé du statut de fin de session IRM

Pour plus de détails sur chaque engagement, voir Rapport de mise en œuvre de la Slovaquie 2017-2019.

Engagements

Open Government Partnership

Skip Navigation
Slovak Republic

Create Engaging Public Policies (SK0102)

Overview

At-a-Glance

Action Plan: Slovak Republic National Action Plan 2017-2019

Action Plan Cycle: 2017

Status: Inactive

Institutions

Lead Institution: the ministers, the head of the Government Office, the heads of other central government bodies, in cooperation with the Plenipotentiary of the Government for the Development of Civil Society

Support Institution(s): NA

Policy Areas

Capacity Building, E-Government, Fiscal Openness, Public Participation, Public Participation in Budget/Fiscal Policy, Regulatory Governance

IRM Review

IRM Report: Slovakia Implementation Report 2017-2019, Slovak Republic Design Report 2017–2019

Starred: No

Early Results: Marginal

Design i

Verifiable: Yes

Relevant to OGP Values: Civic Participation

Potential Impact:

Implementation i

Completion:

Description

Commitment No. 45: Create public policies identified in accordance with the recommended material "Guidelines for Engaging the Public in Public Policy Making" in cooperation with civil society representa-tives.

IRM Midterm Status Summary

THEME - Develop and evaluate policies in a participatory manner
Comm 43, 45, 47, 49, 63, 64

Language of the commitment as it appears in the action plan[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic 2017 – 2019”, http://bit.ly/2QYIlHV ]:

Commitment 43: “Based on a broad dialogue between central government authorities and the civil society, identify public policies that will be created in a participative manner with civil society representatives.”

Commitment 45: “Create public policies identified in accordance with the recommended material "Guidelines for Engaging the Public in Public Policy Making" in cooperation with civil society representatives.”

Commitment 47: “Evaluate identified participatory processes of creation and implementation of public policies and disseminate examples of good practice based on this evaluation.”

Commitment 49: “Propose a recommendation of internal guidelines on the use of free on-line tools in participatory creation of public policies.”

Commitment 63: “Analyze and evaluate preliminary information and reports on public participation in the process of drafting and commenting on draft legislation.”

Commitment 64: “Analyze and evaluate the effectiveness of the Electronic Collective Petition.”

Start Date:  Not specified  

End Date: 30 June 2019

 

Context and Objectives

Slovakia ranks high on political participation, associational and organizational rights[Note : Freedom House, “Freedom in the World 2018: Slovakia”, http://bit.ly/2QeEKJM  ]. Citizens are free to organize in political parties and movements. However, although everyone holds full political rights, some disadvantaged groups, for instance, of a Roma minority, do not live in conducive conditions to exercise these rights and benefit from them fully. Freedom of assembly is constitutionally guaranteed, and there are no restrictions for CSOs to operate. Nonetheless, the former Prime Minister Robert Fico expressed a hostile position towards them on occasions[Note : ČTK, “Fico chce prinútiť mimovládky, aby zverejnili financie zo zahraničia” (Fico wants to force NGOs to publish their finances from abroad), Sme.sk, http://bit.ly/2QEueLk (in Slovak).  ]. Therefore, vocal support from the top political level for greater civil society engagement in policy making is not felt in day to day government operation.

Nonetheless, the government has formally committed to advancing participatory policy-making in its several official documents, national action plan included. Participatory policy-making has been a part of all action plans so far[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic”, http://bit.ly/2DKiGPZ and The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic 2015”, http://bit.ly/2RevqCc. ]. Commitments 43, 45 and 47 were already included in the first[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic”, http://bit.ly/2DKiGPZ ] and second[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, “Open Government Partnership National Action Plan of the Slovak Republic 2015”, http://bit.ly/2RevqCc] action plan.  

Civic participation is one of the key OGP values and co-creation should be at the heart of OGP processes[Note : Open Government Partnership, “OGP Participation & Co-creation Standards”, http://bit.ly/2FFjwQl  ]. Therefore, all commitments in this cluster, in particular commitments 43, 45 and 47 are relevant to OGP values and also specific enough to be assessed. If the process of developing policies in a participatory manner and a subsequent evaluation of the process is executed inclusively and professionally, it could have positive spillover on the entire public administration. Therefore, the potential impact of these commitments could be moderate.

Interviewees argued that several conditions must be met to achieve this. A CSO representative with extensive knowledge about participatory policy-making emphasized that processes must be transparent, and information has to be provided at all stages[Note : Interview with Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 November 2018. See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details.         ]. She added that “participants should know why the final version of a policy document is written as it is”. She argued that while it is impossible to reflect preferences of all participants in the policies, they should be kept informed on how their feedback was incorporated. Another interviewee argued that participation should not be exclusive to selected policies only but needs to be embedded in institutional culture more broadly[Note : Interview with Ján Gondoľ (open education and science expert), 5 November 2018, See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details.         ]. He pointed to OGP commitments in open data that were developed against a participatory spirit. This example as well as others that interviewees mentioned suggest that there are significant differences in the extent and quality of their participatory processes between agencies[Note : Interview with Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 November 2018. Interview with Marcel Zajac (Centre for Philanthropy), 5 November 2018. See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details.   ]. Therefore, the continuation of these commitments might be particularly beneficial for agencies that haven’t yet embraced participation in their day to day operation.

As for evaluating participatory processes, concerns and reservations about self-evaluation, which were raised in the previous IRM report[Note : Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership, “Slovakia Special Accountability Report 2014 - 2015”, http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws], still prevailed. A CSO representative interviewed for this report argued that criteria for evaluating participatory policy-making are counterproductive as they make evaluation a very formalized process[Note : Interview with Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 November 2018. See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details.         ]. Another CSO representative shared the view claiming that obligatory evaluation criteria add to an already existing bureaucratic burden that public servants have to face in their day to day work. Public servants might respond to this obligation by finding strategies how to circumvent it[Note : Interview with Marcel Zajac (Centre for Philanthropy), 5 November 2018. See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details.   ].

Commitment 49 to draw up internal guidelines with a view to the use of free online tools in participatory policy-making is very technical in nature and has unclear relevance for open government as such, and therefore is also coded for no potential impact. Though, it might widen the range of means for the public to participate, which might be in line with their everyday use of information and communication technologies. Nonetheless, many of these are commercial services, and thus, the government will not be able to guarantee full control and responsibility for the data.   

The analysis of preliminary information and reports on public participation in the process of drafting and commenting on draft legislation (commitment 63) is important, as it is crucial to know to what extent the public can participate and participates in legislative processes. Based on the findings of such analysis, improvements could be proposed and implemented.

Commitment 64 to analyze the effectiveness of collective e-petitions is important given that not a single e-petition was created since its launch on the national e-government portal, http://www.slovensko.sk, on 31 December 2015[Note : Collective e-petitions at Slovensko.sk, https://open.slovensko.sk/hromadneziadosti (in Slovak). ]. It is crucial to understand why the platform hasn’t been successful and what can be done to encourage its take-up. The previous IRM report[Note : Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership, “Slovakia Special Accountability Report 2014 - 2015”,  http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws] concluded that non-use of e-petitions either suggests an absence of demand for such a platform due to the saturation of demand by preexisting platforms, or lack of awareness or poor design of the platform. Stakeholders recommended previously reconsidering thresholds and reducing significantly the number of signatures required for the government to consider an e-petition[Note : At the moment, the threshold is 15 000 signatures. ].

Next steps

  • Embed participation in institutional culture across different sectors

The differences in extent and quality of participatory processes between public agencies are significant. While some agencies have more experience with participatory processes, others do not. The differences also exist within public agencies. A CSO representative provided an example of both good and bad practices within the same agency[Note : Interview with Karolína Miková (PDCS), 9 November 2018. See Section ‘VI. Methodology and sources for details. As a good practice example, she stated the National priorities for the Agenda 2030, which resulted from wide participatory processes. As a bad practice example, she mentioned the action plan for transformation of the Horná Nitra region mostly because of the closed nature of processes and a lack of basic information.              ]. During the action plan development, CSO representatives expressed their concerns that engaging CSOs into policy-making processes is often very formal and CSO representatives are often presented with a finished and already decided thing[Note : The Office of the Plenipotentiary, „Správa z regionálnych workshopov k tvorbe Akčného plánu Iniciatívy pre otvorené vládnutie na roky 2016 – 2019“ (Report from regional workshops on the development of the OGP Action plan 2016-2019), http://bit.ly/2zslNsy (report in Slovak).]. They also complained that working groups or commissions are over-represented by public servants. All these points, added up, require that the government has a more holistic approach to participation. It should not be exclusive to the development of policies that were selected as a part of OGP commitments and should include regular face-to-face meetings with stakeholders, including CSOs. A commitment to civic engagement should be embedded in institutional culture and day to day operation of public agencies and include local as well as national government. Translated into action points, this means that public agencies should inform about their planned activities pro-actively in an open and transparent way using various communication channels to ensure that the message reaches all relevant audiences. They should do so at the earliest stages, not when a draft law or decision is already written, but at the preliminary/green paper stage, where a problem or proposal is identified, the context described, and policy scenarios outlined. Stakeholders should be engaged at this stage, and at each subsequent stage, including when a Regulatory Impact Assessment has been published (ideally, RIA would be produced at each stage).

  • Make CSOs’ engagement easier

Already the previous IRM report[Note : Mária Žuffová, Open Government Partnership, “Slovakia Special Accountability Report 2014 - 2015”, http://bit.ly/2EzH4Ws] emphasized that providing different resources for CSOs to participate is a precondition for ensuring inclusive processes. A CSO representative interviewed for this report mentioned that their capacities are strained. However, that said, her organization always joins discussions regarding themes that are crucial for its work, such as FOI legislation. She added that the government should pro-actively explore what would help different CSOs to engage[Note : Interview with Veronika Prachárová (Slovak Governance Institute), 16 November 2018.]. The propositions could vary. The government should introduce a database of interested stakeholders, such as CSOs, who want to be notified of the launch of each process likely to lead to decisions or laws in their area of focus or interest. The information should also be publicly available for those who would prefer not to register. An opportunity to join meetings and discussion via Skype could attract more regional CSOs which do not have financial and time resources to travel through Slovakia for an hour meeting in the capital city etc. In addition, the ministries could produce green papers, explanatory notes or regulatory impact assessments, which will provide condensed key information, as CSO representatives are often time constrained to read full documents. Last but not least, the government could raise awareness of funding opportunities for CSOs.

  • Include an external element in the evaluation of participatory policy making

As stakeholders repeatedly emphasized for this but also previous IRM report, self-evaluation of participatory processes might be insufficient. A CSO representative also argued that criteria for evaluation of participatory processes also create a false impression that “the government has been participating from dawn to dusk while it is not true”. The setup of the evaluation to include the Ministry of Justice and Deputy Prime Minister’s office is positive, so that the evaluation is not carried out by the individual ministry or agency that ran the participatory process. To further strengthen the independence and impartiality of the evaluation, the inclusion of independent external assessor or reviewer is recommended, and the inclusion in the assessment of feedback, for instance in survey format, of the stakeholders who are engaged in the given subject area as to their assessment of the participatory process. An external element is needed for an objective assessment.  

IRM End of Term Status Summary

For details on each commitment, see Slovakia Implementation Report 2017-2019.

Commitments

Open Government Partnership